Lucy Blues's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Japanese, Korean, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Freelance Graphic Designer, Blogger, Barista, Illustrator
  • Bachelor Degree in Arts
  • From Canada, Hong Kong
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Currently living on a beautiful outlying island in Hong Kong, which is far from the city. I was born and raised in a lovely neighborhood in Canada and officially moved to Hong Kong at the age around 10. I go on exploring the world through travelling.

My major was cultural studies, minoring in visual arts. After my graduation, I decided to visit Taiwan for my very first time, and worked at a homestay guesthouse in Kenting for month to explore my abilities. Later on, I came back to Hong Kong and continue my work as a personal assistant in a local indie music café, hosting live music shows, as well as in charge of all the visual elements for the shop.
This work experience acknowledges my great interest in cooking, pastry making & coffee making. Soon, I have resigned and decided to start with the basics in food & beverage, I worked as a part-time server in a bistro and bar, worked there for 3 months and acquired coffee making skills. Cooking has developed as a hobby in my daily life. Now, I have am officially a certified barista! and I love all the coffee moments! I do get inspired by the “philosophy of culinary” to create my artworks, and I hope to share with you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I wanna meet local people and get deep into their local culture, especially their language, art, and the art of food culture!

Interests

I love Nature, wild life
Cooking! good at it! Coffee making!
Acoustic guitar, Singing,
Watercolor painting,
Movie-goer, Music lover, any thing related to art and craft.
Travelling, Yoga,
60's, Hippies....

  • arts
  • culture
  • singing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • painting
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • backpacking
  • cultural studies
  • visual arts
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Woody Allen's movie, Waking Life, I origins, Before sunrise series, Cafe Lumiere, Maborosi, Tim burton's movie, David Fincher...
Pink Floyd, We are trees, Helios...The Doors...Mogwai, Slowdive, Yo la Tengo, Weird Dreams, Air
Dream Pop, Indie, alternative rock, progressive rock...

Siddhartha, Herman Hesse, 村上春樹

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Exploring the southern part of Taiwan alone, exchanging my labour for homestay and meals. Drove a broken electrical scooter on highway everyday for a month in Taiwan, which I don't have any professional training and driving license, I have to do it just because my boss from Taiwan offered me a place to stay which is very far from the place I work. whoops! That was fun!

I have also been to bavi, Hanoi, in Vietnam for volunteer work for a week.

I also did backpacking in China by local train with my friends during my college years. Amazing journeys!

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach and share with you some of the local/exotic dishes I know. Anything I could share about my journeys, my interest.

What I Can Share with Hosts

cultural exchange in any art forms, cooking forms...language...

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Japan, Malaysia, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Hong Kong, Taiwan

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucy’s full profile. It’s free!