Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luis Miguel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Musician - Language Teacher
  • Degrees in Music & Engineering
  • From Caracas, Venezuela
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in Caracas, which is the capital of Venezuela, which is not in Africa. I can't live without music. I'm an extremely lousy soccer player. I love beers, languages, and traveling; all of those hobbies I picked up in Belgium. I pretend to understand paintings but most of the times I really don't. Reading is also one of my hobbies. I probably have more hobbies than I can afford. Outdoors are important. And coffee. Coffee is important.

I like to think of myself as a very open minded person (CS cliché alert). I love it when I run into something that challenges that notion and that's why I enjoy traveling so much.

My philosophy is to learn as much as I can. I believe that experience is the greatest teacher. Getting to know new people, places, and points of view is a good starting point. I try to make the most out of everything, and to have fun doing it :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CS has certainly become an important part of my traveling experience. I've been lucky enough to travel a lot in my country and in some other places. Every time, learning about the local culture and sharing good times with new people has been my main priority. CS just makes it SOOO much easier. And cool.

Also, when I'm not traveling, I get to share what I know about my current home with visitors and locals alike. I love the sense of community that CS creates.


Music and arts in general, friends, new friends, new places, reading, nature, outdoors, sports... it's a long long long list.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: basically ANYTHING, as long as it's good. One of my favorite things is to discover new music or to re-discover something I've already listened to. All time favorites include: brazilian, funk, soul, reggae, venezuelan, orchestral stuff, contemporary stuff.

Reading: Mostly latin-american authors - Borges, Cortázar, García Márquez, Faciolince, and so on. Kundera, Camus, and many other classics and not-so-classics as well. Whenever I'm at the dentist, I also read old newspapers and magazines from the 80s.

Watching: Movies that make me think, and sometimes movies that prevent me from thinking. As far as TV shows go, Seinfeld should be declared a religion or at least a mandatory subject at school.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sitting on the edge of the 600-meters-high mount Kukenan, facing the Roraima, while watching the sunrise with nothing but clouds under my feet. Most amazing inspiring, humbling sight in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to share what know about music and languages with you. Other than that, If you feel I know something you'd like to learn about, just ask and I'll share whatever I can. I'll do the same, for shure!!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of insight into music, creativity, languages and communication. Also, very bad jokes in Spanish and a decent sense on how to cook. Guitar lessons? deal.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, United States, Venezuela

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Luis Miguel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups