Luke Benning's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luke’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Engineer - Pinterest
  • BS in Computer Science - Cornell University
  • From NJ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

- Graduated from University (USA) in December 2015
- Solo backpacked in Oceania, Asia and Europe for 6 months days after graduation.
- Went to Colombia for two weeks to learn Salsa and eat empanadas.
- Currently work in San Francisco, CA, traveling a few times a year.

Always looking for the next adventure.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get a more immersive experience when traveling, getting to know culture/customs/language. I noticed traveling in hostels tends to result in meeting mainly foreigners, but when visiting a country I'd like to hang out with locals as well.


Weightlifting, Running, Boxing, Hiking, Computer Programming, Drinking Coffee/Beer/Vodka, Language Learning, Jungle Slashing, Motorbike Riding, Cliff Jumping, Mountain Biking

  • beer
  • coffee
  • fitness
  • running
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • sports
  • boxing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Adele, Swedish House Mafia, Avicii, ACDC, Nightwish, Eminem, Krewella

Movies - Fight Club, LOTR, Dark Knight Trilogy, The Fighter, The Fast and the Furious, Troy, Avatar, The Matrix, The Prestige

Books - Thinking Fast and Slow (Daniel Kahneman)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Trekking 105km over an alpine mountain pass in New Zealand with no map, compass, sleeping bag and only dried fruit/granola/cookies/tuna to eat (it was very fun).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hiking - Spent over a month tramping (hiking) in New Zealand. I made a lot of mistakes but learned in the process, can share what I found out.

Weightlifting / Nutrition - Into fitness, I've done sports most of my life, and have lots of experience with running and weightlifting.

English - If your English isn't that great, I can help you improve!

Travel Experience - I've solo traveled in three continents and many countries, if you want to know what it's like traveling alone, the benefits and drawbacks, or about traveling in one of the countries I've been in, I can definitely help you out!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Colombia, Estonia, Finland, Hong Kong, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Singapore, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ukraine, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Luke’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups