Lydia Ann

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Learner; Maker; Observer
  • College
  • From Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


I'm currently on a break from studying art at Cooper Union in New York City. In February I will be leaving for a 5 month trip backpacking around Europe, I will be WWOOFing a lot and (hopefully!) staying with people through CS. I am so incredibly excited to be traveling again and meeting new people and learning new things about the world and myself.

In my day to day life I typically work in my studio a lot of the time making stuff. I also volunteer with different organizations around the city (Occupy, Trade School, Catholic Worker) and during the school year I teach high schoolers drawing. I am trying to find a way to live that combines my love of making things with my love of both education and activism (without getting too burnt out in the process!)

I'm a very curious person and my interests seem to be ever expanding the more I learn about the world and through the wonderful people I meet. I am kind of shy when I first meet others, but I warm up quickly.


Try many things, listen to all types of people, actively participate in life and be respectful.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I haven't officially stayed with someone through this site, but I've traveled with and met many people who use CS and swear by it--so hopefully soon I will be having similar experiences with CS!


None yet, but hoping to change that very soon!


Things I love:
Historic trees (!!!, small and large animals, good socks, olives, mugs full of warm stuff, kind and good people

Some things I do most days:
dumpster diving, cooking and baking, reading, walking, aimless and purposeful drawing, learning, making music, stumbling into surreal moments, writing, good conversations

Some things I do, but wish I did more:
travel, making zines, making jam, learning history, building tables, going to shows (art, music, plays etc!) gardening, knitting, sleeping outside, practice speaking French

Things I'm interested in knowing/doing:
building a house, permaculture, homeopathic remedies, making clothes, learning the Russian language and more history of Russia, making more zines!, making comics, sleep on a beach (somehow I've never done this, but it seems very important!), learning to read Tarot cards and study magick

Music, Movies, and Books

Agnes Varda films, Waking Life, But I'm a Cheerleader!, Celine and Julie Go Boating, Saute Ma Ville, The Little Princess, Arrested Development

PLAN-IT-X records!!!! (Good Luck, Spoon Boy, Hop Along Queen Anelais, Ghost Mice, Taxpayers, Nana Grizol, etc), a lot of Twee stuff (Pastels, Vaselines, Beat Happening, Tiger Trap), Bikini Kill, Pixies, Bangs, Bunnygrunt, Janelle Monae, Talking Heads, Paul Simon, Little Dragon, The Carter Family

Right now I'm reading/planning to read in the near future:
East of Eden, Kindred, Essays by Emily Goldman, Capitol, Off the Map, Cat's Cradle, some Eileen Myles poems, a book on Tarot, articles on the net...
I really, really like to read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

During Hurricane Sandy lower Manhattan's power was off. I biked there at night and it was like some crazy dream--the streets seemed more like canyons then a city. I've never experienced such a surreal moment before or since.

I also have had great moments traveling--running through sunsets in olive groves in outside of Florence, Italy; standing on the equator in Kenya; farming outside of Montreal at the most lovely families home; watching bodies being cremated on the Ganges River amongst floating candles; driving through field after field of blooming apple trees a few summers ago.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cut hair and I'm pretty good at dumpster diving in New York. Teach me how to cook something and I'll teach you how to cook something new! I know a bit of French but would like to improve. I like making zines and art with new and old friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, France, India, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups