Maaike Schaap's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Writer/COVID-researcher
  • Bachelor
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am 30 years old, living with my cat and doing as much fun things as I can - while I work to pay for the fun things. Having dinner somewhere, going on walks, going to a movie, a fun game night with friends or hopping on a plane for a few fun days abroad.

I currently work for a company where I talk to people and hand out advice regarding COVID. Besides this I am also working as a writer, because that last thing is what I love most: being busy with words and talking to interesting people to hear their stories.

Even though I really like to do fun things, I'm alsoy a (social) introvert who also needs their alone time for writing/reading and just relaxing. But during my travels I've experienced Couchsurfing and I just love it! I went on a big trip in 2017 where I did most of the surfing, but in 2021 I also went to stay with a host in Mexico, but because of an error in the site we couldn't upload the reviews.

What else... I also really like to box, watch movies, strolling around cities/nature or the beach and I love food... What's life without food, right?!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting people from all over the world. And as a traveler to see the area through the eyes of an local, that's just so much fun.

Interests

  • writing
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • food and drinks
  • watching tv series

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen, Taylor Swift... (goes on forever).
Guilty Pleasures: ABBA and bad karaoke.
Series: Always changing, but ones I really liked were: Outlander, The Fall, Suits, This is Us, Friends, The Office US.
Books: all kinds! Do you have a good book tip? I'm always reading different stuff!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Went to LA to interview a Hollywood actor for my work
- Ride a horse on a 'sulky' on a horse race track

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you something about trotting horse races, I can share (travel)stories with you, I can share food, we can do all sort of games and I'm always in for learning something new!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share food/drinks/stories with you, show you around the city of Groningen of maybe - when there's time- even something more 'off grid' in the Netherlands. And if you have any questions before hand, just let me know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile.

My Groups