Maartje Duin's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maartje’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • journalist / radiodocumentary maker
  • General Linguistics, Spanish
  • From Rotterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I love bringing people together, be it through

ABOUT ME

I guess I'm warm, hospitable, open, enthusiastic, passionate, direct, and have a remarkably loud laugh (so people say). On the flipside, I can be chaotic and indecisive. I wonder about a lot of things, which makes for good journalism but sometimes keeps me wandering around for a long time before reaching my destination. I don't eat meat but I do eat fish.

PHILOSOPHY

I am a matchmaker. Be it for work or a hiking club or a romantic partnership, I like to bring people together. Most of my radiowork is about how people live together, single, in pairs or in groups... I'm fascinated by how people try to find eachother, and how they succeed and sometimes fail.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

surfing and hosting

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been active on CS since November 2012 and met some great people, both in Helsinki, Hanoi and Amsterdam. In earlier years, I surfed a lot of couches in Asia and Latin-America before there was even such a thing as a CS-website. I think it's the best way to learn about a country.

Interests

I love to spend time with friends. The more, the better. Try to see a movie every week, go to restaurants and bars (don't take it personally if I start to yawn around 11 pm: I'm just more of a morning person), take hikes in the weekends, go swimming, salsa dancing, running or boxing and play the piano every so often.

  • fish
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • running
  • walking
  • clubbing
  • piano
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • boxing
  • swimming
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Hey, why isn't there a 'radio' category here? I love storytelling in sound - just words and music, well edited.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding my bike early morning in Los Angeles, coming to the top of the hill of Griffith Park and looking all over the city... up until the sea...

Leaving my house in the 17th century center of Amsterdam as a student and being grateful for living amidst such beauty...

Hiking, in general, has made for some awesome moments, but one of the most gorgeous places was the Copper Canyon in Mexico, deep and green and flowery with the Tarahumara Indians walking past on their sandals made of tires.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Peru, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Maartje’s full profile. It’s free!