Philadelphia, PA, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MACNAPIER’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Industrial Designer, Conservator of Gilded Objects & Arch...
  • University degrees in Art & Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make dinner for the world, one person at a time....


Dedicated motorcyclist that has never owned an automobile. I enjoy traveling and meeting the world on their own turf, making friends, hanging out, and enjoying life. I also love to show visitors my city and to provide hospitality. My wife and I love to cook and entertain. We enjoy good food, conversation, fancy dress parties, wine, beer, cocktails, walking, art, design, architecture, reading, music, computers, digital imaging/photography.

I am a text book Sagitarian, so be warned. I am a "straight-up", "what you see is what you get" high energy person, with no pretenses. I don't care for Bullshit. Plain talk and clear communication straight from the heart is what works for me, and that's how I am going to deal with you. I am a very open and forthright person. I don't like mind games, people who have something to hide, or secrets. I share my home, friends, and lifestyle with you. I give respect, trust, share, and ask that you do the same with me and my wife. I may not be in agreement with your beliefs, but I will always listen and consider what you have to say. I think it is important to be tolerant of others and their beliefs. It's a big world filled with lots of different ideas. Respect and consideration for others, their lifestyles and homes is important.

I'm one of the older members here. For most of you I'm probably old enough to be your father, uncle, or an older brother. However, that doesn't mean that I am brain dead, out of touch with popular culture, music, dance, good food, cocktails, forgot to have fun, or don't know what's going on in my city, or in the world. To the contrary, I have the benefit of decades of travel, education, taste, "life experience", and personal connexions that has provided a deep appreciation of life and all it offers.

I welcome you to my city. I am one of the 105 "Certified Philadelphia tour guides". I can't wait to hear about your life, travels, and to share life experiences!

Hospitality and friendship have nothing to do with how many times you've gone around the sun. If you have issues with older people that might be the age of your parents (or possibly your grandparents), just keep on's your hang up, not mine. It's what's in your heart and soul that counts!

Read more:


Good and bad people come from everywhere, all cultures, and every belief. I'm interested in meeting the good people!
I love being creative and constructive every day. I own my own business (in the arts) and work hard, but never have forgotten that there is more to life than work and money. People and my social connexions and "contracts" are very important to me.
I'm interested in building BRIDGES, not WALLS with the people that surf with me.
If you are not the sharing type, if you are hiding from the world, scared to let me see the real "you", I and my home are not the right place for you. Please seek a different host
Age is a number. We don't pick when we are born.
An open heart, honesty, sincerity, a spirit of sharing and kindness are what appeals most.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm here to provide good advice, fun times, and a safe place for my surfers and CS visitors to the city. I provide insight from the perspective of a native born resident.
As an Ambassador I welcome new members to CS, advise and guide visiting CSer's, assist with problems and disputes, and continue to host guests.


My wife and I have always welcomed guests from here and abroad into our home. CouchSurfing is just an extension of this philosophy and way of life. The experience has been good to excellent. My wife and I look forward to meeting more CSer's throughout the year.


Motorcycles. I love the smell and feel of the air, (and the danger and the speed). You are connected to your surroundings that no automobile can offer.
Cooking, Dancing, Cocktails, Champagne, great Beer, Malt Whisky, Chocolate, Travel, Books, Restaurants & Cafes, Walking, Listening and Making Music, Reading, Movies, Thrift stores, Vintage Clothes, Sewing, being active, enjoying life, story telling.
I'm into computers, especially digital imaging, graphics and CAD. Learning web design and HTML.

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Japanese samurai and European flicks. Action, drama, history, fantasy and romance, don't matter. I love to read US and world history and a novel or two every now-and then. I read many design and architectural magazines and technically oriented books about materials and techniques.
Jazz, Rock, Electronica, R&B/Soul/Funk.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been to war. It's awesome, terrifying, and evil.
I have been shot, I have killed people, been in two collisions at sea, and a major motorcycle accident that should have killed me.
I have designed and built a few beautiful restaurants and clubs.
The best was helping to build a mosque and designing and building several non-denominational chapels on aircraft carriers, "A" ships, and naval stations for the US Navy.
To love, to give of yourself, be generous, kind, and be open to love and friendship.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Cooking, baking, decorative painting, mouldmaking/casting, digital imaging/editing, computer graphics, basic sewing skills.
Share: Shopping at thrift, vintage, and second-hand stores, cooking, stories about your life, family, friends, and travels, cocktails, dancing, music, introductions to friends, digital imaging/editing, computer graphics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I offer a real bed in comfortable setting in a great location. There is good food and drink, a warm, welcoming home. I know my city and its neighbourhoods well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Belgium, Cambodia, France, India, Italy, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    30 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see MACNAPIER’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups