Madeline Dietrich's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Madeline’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 65, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • consultant
  • Master's Degree
  • From Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I love this stage of life where my children are grown and independent. Leaving me foot loose and fancy free. I like to travel, meet new people and see new things, experience life from different perspectives of culture and social ways. When I travel I'm always looking to get off the beaten track. I have my bucket list and it includes small things like checking out restaurants I've heard about all my life and not been to - my first career was a chef; I most appreciate the local, organic, seasonal approach to food. That list also includes bigger things like living again in a developing country (probably Africa) and making a contribution in some way. I lived in southern Africa in my mid-30s and would like to go back to spend more time. I have god-daughters there. I am also a writer and often when I'm travelling I'm trying to catch the details in paper to share in some way when I return. I usually like to travel in the winter - first off Canada is COLD in winter, but also in summer there are so many wonderful things to do here, including having my own garden and being involved in community gardens. As well I've been beekeeper for 15 years - that's waning now, but it keeps me at home. I'm new to formal CSing but I have hosted many friends, family and some strangers, at my house over the years and think it's the best way to travel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet regular ordinary people who live in a new city that I'm visiting. I like to get the inside scoop. It's a more relaxed and friendly way to travel.
I appreciate and resonate with co-operative values that couch surfing represents.

Interests

Gardening, beekeeping, cooking, poetry, art, spirituality. community building, travel, outdoor music concerts. spending time in nature - walking, .canoeing, snowshoeing, swimming.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • poetry
  • performing arts
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • canoeing
  • surfing
  • snowshoeing
  • track and field
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

I like all kinds of music everything but cool jazz. New up and coming Canadian group -Esmerine - check them out.
Favorite Movies: In an Other World - Danish; Butiful - Spanish; Vicky, Christina Barcelona.
Favorite authors - Irish writer Colm Toibin, Canandian Alice Munroe

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just recently I took on the challenge of creating a poetry concert with two musicians friends. We held a fund-raising event and it was a great success. I had never done any kind of performance piece before, and it was fun and very energizing. Plan to do more.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach cooking, gardening, set up an electric fence ( part of bee keeping), all about bees. I'd like to learn more Spanish, ethnic cooking, different kinds of dance. I can share poems - I know many by heart and like to speak them to people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Poems, stories, cooking, gardening, I'm a good ideas person - love to problem solve and brainstorm ideas. I'm pretty good at fixing things around the house.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, France, Italy, Malawi, Mexico, South Africa, Spain, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Madeline’s full profile. It’s free!