Logo orange

Madison Roland-Evans

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Madison's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • odd jobs, fresh food markets, hospit...
  • Arts degree - Spanish and Internatio...
  • From sydney, new south wales, australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

taste new food, sleep in different places, talk, listen

ABOUT ME

Last year I finished studying literature and spanish, did my last semester in Barcelona. Have loved the friends i made there and i learnt alot. Now i'm based in sydney, doing lots of reading and trying to get work experience on small farms and places involved in the local food network or sustainability in cities. I love the coast a lot so hopefully on day i can work on the land somewhere thats next to a beach!

i love dancing! and live music makes my heart happy. working with the land, reading, sewing and seeing good theatre are some more of the things i like to do when i'm at home.

PHILOSOPHY

community, learning, adventures.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

surf, host. i have a couch in the inner west of Sydney.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Last minute couchsurf in Malaga, we were planning on sleeping in a park but when we went to a couchsurfing meetup that night Levi offered my friend and i a bed for the night.

I couchsurfed in Paris, France, for two nights, with the lovely Camille. He showed me paris by night and will hopefully come and visit sydney soon.

My brother and I courchsurfed in Antofagasta, Chile. My brother ended up becoming best friends&travel buddies with Lisa, she put us up with some friends and took us around the city, to secret places along the coast to eat shellfish off the rocks, and made sure we had a mad memorable time.

In Sydney i have hosted two couchsurfers, Ben & Annelise. Annelise was a friend of my housemates, and Ben I met while working on farms in Queensland. They each stayed for a few weeks, we had a spare room that they used. It was nice to have some different voices in the house, and it worked well since we were oftenin the house at different times so wasn't too busy.

Interests

people, spanish, permaculture, communities, food, talking, dancing, music, gigs, theatre, poetry, reading, singing, markets, camping, the beach, the water, sunshine, eating yum food, just having a good time with people.

Music, Movies & Books

stories stories stories! Isabel Allende, Tolstoy, Lorca, E.E. Cummings, some beat poetry, spoken word. sewing, knitting, making crafty things happen, dancing. saw some amazing music last year at Primavera Sound festival.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

people's creativity in writing, music, dance, drawing, talking...camping in Australia in the Blue Mountains. the bush in Australia is huge and smells great and the endless gum trees can get overwhelming. then finding that huge river you've been looking for all day and jumping in and camping on the bank.

Hitch-hiking the south coast of Spain and up all along to portugal, sleeping on beaches and enjoying the beautiful coast and meeting people.

La Festival de la Tradicion Oral y Las Semillas, Rio Cana, Ecuador. true community and love for the land.

Sacred Suenos farm near Vilcabamba, Ecuador. two hours hike from the town, the farm is trying to regenerate the mountainside that has been degraded from years of slash-and-burn farming and cattle. did alot of planting, maintenence, bees, cooking and tree care.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can share my love for life and a love for people in general. and dancing! Also english is my first language, and i am happy to share my time in non english speaking environments, and i always want to better my Castellano. Living with two Catalan speakers last semester was great and i wish i spoke Catalan!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Chile, Ecuador, Germany, Japan, Peru, Philippines

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Madison's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile