Magdelijn Emaus

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magdelijn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Digital & Mobile Consultant
  • Master of Science (Strategy) and Bachelor of Arts (Busine...
  • From Nijmegen
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Learning to enjoy making mistakes :)


Passions: music, people, photography, singing, street food, European beers, pasta, music, the art of fine wining & dining, music, snow angels, the smell of spring, feeling the sun burning on your skin & autumn colours. Did I mention music?


Life is like cooking: gotta try everything before finding the right flavour.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I love to meet new people from galaxies far far away. Always interested in exploring our differences and similarities, and comparing food is a must!

When hosting: Not that interested if you're just here to smoke weed and I won't host for more than 2 nights cause I have to think of my 3 other flatmates. Please make an effort in reading my profile. If your request shows you did, if our couch is available and I'm not surfing somebody elses's, I would love to discover the city with you. I've been to various museums, movie theathers, clubs, pubs and markets with my surfers and loved it!

When surfing, I'm the anti-sightseeing girl, I'd rather experience a place and people then 'just' see it. I'm independant but love to really get to know you and your friends.


Only good ones! Getting to know Lauren and Montréal has been a changing event in my life and I haven't been able to stop. Met amazing people in Montréal, Toronto, Jasper, Victoria and San Francisco and I started hosting in Amsterdam! It's been fun to see my home town through the eyes of a foreigner.


Music, food, nature, architecture, languages.

Top 5 in that order?

1) Music! Starting at Kings of Convenience (very laid back) & jazzy tunes to drum 'n base & utter techno -when the time is right :)
2) Food! Home-made Italian pasta, fresh basil is a must. Love to cook veggie (for guests and hosts), since I've been one all my life and will make you forget T-bone steaks ever existed.
3) Nature! Always seems to let me see things in perspective.
4) Architecture! High-rise skyscrapers & old roman arches.
5) Languages! I'm an English accent chameleon, almost there when it comes to speaking French fluently and the ultimate goal is to master Spanish within the next 5 years.

Music, Movies, and Books

Into the Wild, The Gladiator, 10 Things I Hate About You (don't ask), The Sound of Music (again, don't ask)

any singer-songwriter song, The Kooks, the XX, Paolo Nutini, Angus & Julia Stone, Air, Editors, Madeleine Peyroux, Young the Giant, Kings of Convenience, Metric, Zero 7, Röyksopp, but also elektro, dance and techno. Less specific when it comes to that genre, but to name a few: Laurent Garnier, Gui Boratto, Armin van Buuren

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cross sectioning Canada by train, east to west coast

Teach, Learn, Share

Nothing good ever happens after 2 am ;).

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Serbia, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Aruba, Canada, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Magdelijn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups