Magnus Sinding Hoelvold

Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning Italian, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Actor, writer, singer
  • BA Photography and Film
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am one half of the household, the other half being my wife Marit ( ). We are open-minded, friendly types and we practice ethical non-monogamy. 100% welcoming to LGBTQ folk (and everything in-between), as well as all ethnicities and nationalities. I personally identify as queer.

Just so you know: We have two cats (Vera and Cthulhu) and a massive puppy (Balrog). Cthulhu will stay far out of your way, Vera might come inspect you, and Balrog is very, very attention hungry. I'm happy to teach you how to talk to Balrog so he might leave you alone, but he WILL get up in your face as much as he can as he's still a teenager and quite excitable. Just FYI.

In 2007, we came to Edinburgh. Me to study film and she to do a PhD in the history of mathematics. I decided not to hide from my passion for acting anymore and I'm now doing my best to make a living off that skill. Marit works on big ships with complicated equipment doing stuff I can't hope to really understand.

I'm always interested in learning. I'm also a bit of a scatterbrain and very silly. With the right conversational partner, I can talk for hours, be it about complete nonsense or important matters.

Vegetarian. As a huge fan of food and cooking, the kitchen is the one part of the house I'm REALLY struggling to do the whole decluttering thing with. Then again, I'm the kind of guy who has a pasta maker that I actually use on a fairly regular basis. I love gaming, and I'm a coffee enthusiast. Health and fitness is important to me, though it's not something that stops me enjoying food, treats and other lively things. My brain can't stay in one place for very long, so I guess you could call me a general Enthusiast, skipping from obsession to obsession for short spurts.

At the moment, I'm learning Italian. My plan is for us to go on a food holiday around Italy in 2016. *COUGH* (That one's on hold for a bit)

The only thing I can ever expect to be is... Me. Enthusiast. Scatterbrain. Bundle of Energy. Talkative. Friendly. Forgetful and a bit clumsy.

If you are sending me a request, it would be nice if you give some small indication that you've read my profile.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I came because I thought the concept looked really interesting, and I love meeting people of different backgrounds. I've met up with a few people traveling through Edinburgh, but was never able to host until recently. Now, I'm happy to say that me and my wife have a spare room which is available for guests, which is very exciting.


Reading (books, comics, you name it), fitness (lifting heavy things, cycling, hiking, etc), writing (plays, movies, books, whatever), film, gaming (action-adventure, RPGs, Godgames, etc), Live roleplaying, music, art

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Good Omens, Life of Pi, Lord of the Rings, The Man Who Folded Himself, Mars trilogy, etc.
Music: Eva Cassidy, Fiona Apple, Nick Cave, Muse, Richard Cheese, Turbonegro, Bob Hund, Noisettes, Jamie Cullum, etc.
Movies: Duncan Jones, Stanley Kubrick, Peter Jackson, David Cronenberg, Pixar, Brad Bird, Hayao Miyazaki, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rode a horse through a wildlife reserve in South Africa one beautiful morning. The horse farted all. The time. And so did the zebra.

Played Andy Warhol in an advert.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to learn how to juggle. If you have a dance you do, I'd love to learn that as well. If you have an interesting accent, that's always useful for an actor. ANYTHING you want to teach me, I'm ready to (TRY TO) learn!

I can play the jaw harp and also the didjeridoo a bit.
I can also teach the basics of video editing and photography.
Generally tech-savvy, too, so I might be able to help you with your gadgets or your Mac.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a decent cook and will happily cook meals when I'm being hosted. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, France, Iran, Italy, South Africa, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile. It’s free!