Logo orange

Marius Helf

Cambridge, MA, USA

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian; learning French
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Wonderlust King
  • yes
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Develop and change.

ABOUT ME

I love to meet people and discover new things. After my first visit to Italy last year I am addicted to that country :) But of course that doesn't mean that I don't like other places...

If I ask you for a couch, I do so because I read your profile, watched your photos and found that you are a person I have to meet for one reason or another. Of course the fact that you live in a city I would like to visit also had a small impact to the decision to write you, but when I go for couchsurfing instead of booking a hotel it is because I want to meet people. I would appreciate very much to spend time with you, be it by showing some interesting places of the city during the day, enjoying nightlife in the evening, or cooking some local or international specialties if the weather is against going out. This is not a call for 24h entertainment, I also get along alone very well, but I think a good amount of communication and exchange is a major part of the couchsurfing idea.

PHILOSOPHY

Live now, never regret!

Think about the future and learn from the past, but life is now!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I made my first experiences during a 6 weeks stay in Italy with only two nights at the hotel. Thank you all for your hospitality! Giving back something to the community by hosting other travelers appears to be a bit difficult here at Witten though - a city nobody seems to be wanting to travel to. So all I can do is visiting local CS meetings to keep in touch with the community, and travel once in a while.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Verrrrry positive!!

Surfing: 05/2011 Eletta in Padova, Italy 05/2011 Maria in Padova, Italy 05/2011 Dani in Padova, Italy 05/2011 Tiziano in Padova, Italy 05/2011 Celeste in Padova, Italy 05/2011 Martino in Padova, Italy 06/2011 Marjeta and her flatmates in Prato, Italy 06/2011 Giuseppe in Siena, Italy 06/2011 Ori in Siena, Italy 06/2011 Elena and Pietro in Bologna, Italy 06/2011 Giovanbattista in Boscochiesanuova, Italy 06/2011 met Michela in Verona, Italy 07/2011 Patrick in Rome, Italy 01/2012 Lisa in Milano, Italy 01/2012 Laura in Padova, Italy 04/2012 Lena in Rostock, Germany 04/2012 Buket in Paris 04/2012 Gino in Paris 06/2012 Linda and Thomas in Hamburg, Germany 08/2012 Serena in Ancona, Italy 08/2012 Alessandra in Castelplanio, Italy 08/2012 Roz in Bari, Italy 08/2012 Angela in Bari, Italy 08/2012 Netti in Salento, Italy 08/2012 Francesco in Napoli, Italy

Hosting: 06/2011 Matt from England 11/2011 Mattea from California 11/2011 Tilt from Belgium 04/2012 Mischa from Hannover, Germany 04/2012 Lena and Jonas from Rostock, Germany 05/2012 Martin from Hamburg, Germany 05/2012 Jana from Berlin, Germany 06/2012 Carmen from Tübingen, Germany 06/2012 Joses from Singapore 04/2014 Tyler from California 12/2014 Sonja and her friend from Saarbrücken, Germany 01/2015 Jamie from China

...and a lot of "coffee or drink" with couchsurfers, friends of couchsurfers and people not connected to couchsurfing at all.

Help me making my hosting list as long as my surfing list. And help me making my surfing list even longer!

Interests

There are quite a few things I am interested in, amongst them brewing and making wine, being outside, be it during hiking or doing living history, doing sports like cycling, running or swimming.

And I enjoy anything which involves laughing, having a good time with friends, partying, or just talking, going out or staying at home with friends and other interesting people.

Music, Movies & Books

Currently I love watching trashy zombie movies from the 80ies :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hm, traveling by bike and a tent from Germany to Sweden and to the south of France is amongst the greatest experiences I have made. But many amazing things are happening just around us, just keep your eyes open while you live your daily life!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am quite interested in tying knots. I wouldn't call me an expert, but I could teach you some 30 different knots for anything you can imagine doing with a rope and am eager to learn new knots. As I said, I also make wine and beer. If you stay with me for more than 3 days, I can show you how to make nice and sweet sparkling wine from a handful of things from your grocery store. I can also show you how to fix simple issues with your bike or fix your computer (the latter not being my favorite form of spending time).

What I want to learn: language! Just speak with me, and I am happy. Talk with me about something interesting, and our meeting will be perfect :)

And bring your favourite music! I am very interested in music from different countries, even if I don't understand the lyrics.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Republic of, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile