Mahu Powell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahu’s full profile.


  • 85 references 50 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • self employed
  • High school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

First the serious stuff..... I like hosting but not when it costs me my own money to entertain or feed you. In your request please acknowledge that you will bring your own food or contribute for food, fuel etc

NZ Maori meat eater living in Paradise. I love living on the coast and everything it has to offer keeps me busy enjoying it. My drugs of choice are travel, being active, and Adrenaline most days before or after work I'm usually in the ocean, climbing a mountain or riding down one.

I workout everyday or do something active for the fitness and fun benefits your welcome to join me. Reggae or old school soul Music in the morning is like my coffee so if you like to sleep in be prepared or bring earplugs.

I surf (longboard) and bodysurf, I'm lucky enough to live close to a few different beaches to always find a good wave somewhere.

There's so much to do on the Sunshine Coast that you never hear about in a tourist brochure or you need a 4WD to get there, sometimes I can take Couchsurfers when I have time and if there's contributions for fuel etc or I can just recommend some of the good ones, in reality you could stay 2 weeks on the coast and do something different everyday.

I'm a beginner Latin dancer so the chances I'll ask you to help me practice are high.

I get a lot of requests if I accept your request and there is no confirmation from you within 24hrs I will decline so I'm not wondering if your going to show up.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

You know when you get home after travelling overseas and find that most of your friends and family don't understand what your talking about or how you feel or there just to boring and don't like spur of the moment adventures, well Couchsurfers are always up for adventures without having to bribe them to join you.

I love travel and meeting other travelers and locals, some of my best experiences when traveling were with the locals because they knew places to go and things to do that only a local knew.

I have had some bad experiences with Couchsurfers just turning up for free accommodation and expect to be fed and treated like a guest of honour if your this type of person please don't bother sending me a request.

There's a lot to do within walking distance of my place and I also have a kayak, surfboard, bikes and snorkelling gear available to use if you respect it. Weekends when I don't have my kids i usually travel within a few hours to camp and explore.


I have hosted people that I have met on my travels around Australia when they come to the Sunshine Coast, I have stayed with friends in Europe that I met in Australia. I try to go to Couchsurfing meetups or hangouts when I’m overseas to meet other travelers and locals.


Muay Thai, Crossfit, fitness, hiking, diving, all outdoor activities, history, beaches, rivers, 4X4 driving, business, self improvement, Travel, Salsa, Camping, Surfing, Home Brew Beer

  • salsa dancing
  • fitness
  • crossfit
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • wakeboarding
  • boxing
  • business
  • history
  • travel
  • mountain biking
  • spearfishing
  • mma
  • muay thai
  • shooting
  • beer brewing

Music, Movies, and Books

reggae, rock, rnb, hip hop,soul, salsa

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swimming with a wild Tiger Shark in the open water was unreal the adrenaline seeing a huge scary submarine looking beast knowing it could eat me was something I'll never forget.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you martial arts or fitness, camping skills, 4X4 skills, Surfing, Spearfishing, hiking, mountain biking, camping, making beer. I would like to learn skills to grow my own food or becoming self sufficient, I also like learning new workout and Martial arts techniques.

I would like to experience other cultures food as well so if you are a good cook of your native food that's a bonus.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm very clean and respectful of others, I can help out with anything you may want help with I'm also independent so you don't have to feel obligated to show me around if you can't. I can cook also just simple healthy stuff but it's nice.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahu’s full profile.

My Groups