Maia Mareš's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, German
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Literary Agent Intern
  • Bachelor's degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

I am a recent college graduate taking a year to intern and travel. I currently remotely intern for a literary agent in the New York City area. I have traveled mainly around the U.S. the past few months, including multiple road trips. I am currently in Australia, traveling with a friend who is on a travel fellowship.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I'm mostly interested in surfing. Because I am staying with my family, and infrequently at that, I don't have a lot of room or a stable living space in which to host people, but once I have those things, I hope to host travelers as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed in Gent for a weekend in February 2013 with two friends. It was such a fun time. Our host was very willing to show us around, tell us all about Gent and Belgium, and show us the town from a local's perspective. After that, I couchsurfed in Geneva, Switzerland with a wonderful, kind host.

Interests

Crocheting, reading, improv comedy, being outdoors, traveling, exploring, learning about different cultures, politics, modern/contemporary art, crafts, and lots more!

  • arts
  • culture
  • contemporary art
  • crafts
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • gender studies
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

Books/Authors: Marilynne Robinson, Jane Austen, Harry Potter, Judith Butler, Emma Donoghue
Movies: Lord of the Rings, Triplets of Belleville, Mona Lisa Smile, Atonement
Music: The National, Taylor Swift, Lisa Hannigan, Dr. Dog, Sufjan Stevens, Ke$ha

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing I've done was spend a weekend on Schiermonnikoog, an island in the region of Friesland in the Netherlands. I biked around the island and stayed in a farm hostel. It was beautiful, relaxing, and peaceful.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm really up to date with gender and LGBTQIA politics in the United States, since i studied sexuality, women's, and gender studies in university. I love talking and sharing about pop culture, gender, social issues, and politics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach anyone who's interested how to crochet! (:

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Poland, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maia’s full profile. It’s free!