Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see mamauni’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 21 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Italian; learning English
  • 48, Other
  • Member since 2013
  • manuela is a teacher maurizio works with adults with spec...
  • still working at it
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


live life as simply as possible...


as a family we adore nature and getting out of Milan as much as we bought a medieval house overlooking the sea in an ancient town near the border with France and we completly refurbished it... that took up most of our time for the last 6 years, since we did most of the work ourselves... have you ever used a pneumatic hammer ?! no..?! then you should ...what a thrill ! and relaxing too.. better than yoga classes or going to a shrink !!!!
when we are obliged to stay in town, maurizio cooks us extravagant, luxurious meals becuase, having already experienced all Italian recipes he could put his hands on, he's now trying his hand at international cusine... so you could happen to stay at ours and be confronted with a lamb, apples annd cinnamon dish ... (it's actually delicious, or at least our friends said so... I found it wonderful...but maybe I'm a bit partial to him, being his wife... !)

through CS we have realised that we are quite curious and open to novelties, we tend to like all our CSers, but we are not either super tolerant or super flexible : we like to host but at the same time we like our guests to communicate their exact plans, we do not like to have to baby-sit children other than ours, we do like to spend time and organize activities with our guests, but only when on holiday and for no more than 2 days because after that we have to get on with our busy lives, like everybody else..

and we like clarity above all : when we say something...we mean it !

ps in languages you can only put one option : so we have to explain something, Manuela is fluent in English, whereas the rest of the family are only at an elementary level


learn something more everyday
lead a life as simple, ecological and indipendent as possible even if we have to live in a big town
try and consume as little as possible

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

we are more interested in hosting than surfing other people's couches... may be we are a bit lazy but hospitable ...
also we would like to host people in summer in our house in Perinaldo, if anybody is interested in visiting a lovely medieval hamlet in front of the Ligurian sea,lost in the peace of olive groves...
it is also a little heaven for children : they can freely play in the village streets, since there are almost no cars...or go to the shops on their own... experiencing all the indipendence they can't have in big cities


if you are under 40 we probably aren't your best bet, because our life revolves heavily around our child (right or wrong I don't know, but that is our way)... some young people we hosted were not interested at all in us as people, only in finding a cheap place to crash... for that reason there are youth hostels !
so if you are under 40 and still interested in meeting us, please state the reason why you you have requested to stay with us and not at some younger host's place : this way we have also had some great young surfers and now we gladly stick to this policy. Thank you !

from September - to June :IN MILAN WE HOST ONLY SINGLE SURFERS OR COUPLES (normally over 40) at week-ends
July-August :IN PERINALDO (LIGURIA, ca. 1 hour by car from NICE AIRPORT, since on the border with France) we host people (normally over40) or FAMILIES up to 5 people for no longer than 2 nights


Nicolo's is the most experienced CSer in the family : at five he already had a few friends sleeping at ours !
So, if you want to come with your kids, we are quite experienced bedtime story tellers .... until I fall asleep with children asking to read the story to the end...


I love German and English literature (boring... ?! maybe... but I do love them !)My husband and I have also recently discovered classical music and we love to listen to it as much as possible...
whenever possible I also sneak to the theatre...
maurizio loves drawing, gardening, watching at the night sky and cooking strange, mouth-watering food(good for the rest of the family and friends !!!)
NICOLò's interests : playing (possibly in the wild nature...), dinosaurs and ... numbers !!!

  • too old for tags!

Music, Movies, and Books

books ?! what a passion !...the librarians in our local library know all our names by heart !!!
being teachers we are voracious readers... my favourite book being "the unbearable lightness of being" by Milan Kundera and "1984" by Orwell
maurizio reads anything about stars and planets, nico can't get enough of PIMPA...

as for music lately I can't get enough of minimal music, in particular Yann Tiersen and Ludovico Einaudi

my favourite films : soul kitchen, goodbye Lenin, trainspotting, train de vie, Angst essen Seele auf, riff raff, sweet sixteen

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I used to work as a volunteer for an intenational ONG called IVS (intenational voluntary service )...through them I met so many interesting and warm-hearted people from all over the world ! wonderful, but the best thing I've ever done is to decide to a child !

Teach, Learn, Share

well...I'm a teacher.... who's trying to learn to listen to her students more than teach them !!!!

by the way : if there is one thing which we really hate in surfers is when they give us unsolicited advice about our lives.... we are a bit anarchic.... and strongly believe in live and let live... plus we are old enough to make mistakes on our own !

What I Can Share with Hosts

a dinner

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see mamauni’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups