Martí Pardo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martí’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 18, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Student
  • Physics at the University of Barcelona
  • From Girona, Catalonia, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Martí, an 18 year's old boy with an enormous desire to know the world. I'm from Spain, Girona and one day I decided that I wanted to travel a lot and meet many interesting people, so here we are!

But who am I really? I'm not totally sure, that's kinda what life is about isn't it? haha
One thing I would say is really important for me is philosophy. Not the fact of having read a lot (because I haven't) but the thinking and reflexing, I'm always curious about the world and my surroundings. I love the way of interpreting the world both in a scientific, rational way and also in a spiritual, artistic way. I have some political ideologies, I care a lot about social justice and the environment. I am also a vegeterian.

I love music, some people ask me "what music do you listen to" I answer "almost everything if it's good", I don't like Reggeaton or Trap much. But besides that, I love Rock, Soft Pop, Reagge, R'n'B, Indie, Punk, Ska, Techno, Jazz, Metal, Rap, Hip-Hop... I also play the guitar and I'm just starting to play the piano.
One thing I also love is cinema: movies, TV shows... but good ones, the ones that have something special, unique, something profound that reveal the beauty in life and human interactions.

I am right now studying Physics at the University of Barcelona cause I love science and quantum mechanics, but besides that, I also have some knowledge of programming (C++ and Python) and I want to expand it more so that one day I can work as a programmer and do research as a physicist at the same time.

I hope forward to meet you,
Martí

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm here to meet others, to have interesting conversations, to engage in fun activities, to explore new cultures and mainly, to escape from my comfort zone, because it's the only way to grow as a person.

Interests

  • poetry
  • movies
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • science
  • programming
  • maths
  • environmentalism
  • go
  • freestyle

Music, Movies, and Books

Some MUSIC artists I love:
Pink Floyd, Muse, Leonard Cohen, Eminem, Alabama Shakes, Ben Harper, Bob Marley, David Bowie, The Smiths, Dire Straits, Eric Clapton, Estopa, Joan Dausà, Asaf Avidan, La Raiz, Jarabe de Palo, John Lennon, John Mayer, Kate Tempest, Laura Marling, Lenny Kravitz, Massive Attack, Queen, REM, Radiohead, Rigoberta Bandini, Beatles, Rozalén, Tash Sultana, Billie Eilish, Twenty One Pilots, Videoclub, Cat Stevens, Sílvia Pérez Cruz, Ben Howard, Green Day, Yann Tiersen, Tool, Tame Impala, Scorpions, Rodríguez, Rod Stewart, The Technicolors.... (and many more)

Those are probably my favorite MOVIES:
Cinema Paradiso, Trainspotting, Amélie, Call me by your name, Eternal Sunhine of the Spotless Mind, 1917, Birdman, Whiplash, The Secret in Their Eyes, Wild Tales, Angel-A, Big Fish, The Dreamers, Inception, Memento, Interstellar, Reservoir Dogs, Django Unchained, The Hateful Eight, Pulp Fiction, Requiem for a Dream, Dead Poets Society, Green Book, Vice, Parasite, Her, Bourne, Ex-Machina, Fight Club, V for Vendetta, Gravity, American History X, Matrix, The Pianist, Okja...

About BOOKS, I used to read a lot when I was a child but I unfortunately haven't read much in the recent years. Anyways, some of the books I've read and liked: Ender's Game, The cather in the rye, 1984, Persepolis, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Alchemist, Tao Te King, Brief Answers to Big Questions, Cold Skin, Wonder, Homage to Catalonia, Sophie's World... also Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Eragon and this stuff.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I assisted to the United Nations Climate Change Conference in 2019, also known as COP25. I assisted there as an international observer being memeber of the Fridays For Future movement. I even met Greta Thunberg! haha.

Anyways I've not really done many crazy things in my live, but I hope to then in the near future.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning, a lot. I hope one day I can teach others who love learing as well. Definitely, the most important learning is not about concepts or knowledge, it's about life and what really matters.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've never been on a trip this way so this is my first journey haha, I'm kinda nervous but also really excited ^^.

I promise I would be respectful and fully comprehensive about everything and try to help as much with whatever I can. I can sleep on the couch or in the garden with my tent as no to disturb. I'm totally new at all this so any advice or recommendation you can give me will be really appreciated.

I can go out and don't disturb you during the day, but if you want to talk I'm super up to! we can even share a bottle of wine if you want to (which I shall provide).

One thing I would love is to learn a bit the language, so if you can teach just a bit of Italian I would be enormously grateful. It would be great if you want to learn Spanish or already speak it because we could talk in that language and then switch back to Italian in a funny way. In any case, we can perfectly talk in English.

My trip is scheduled for this summer from July 19 to August 2 or so. There is no fixed plan, I will improvise a little if you can host me even if it is only 1 day, I will be eternally grateful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Martí’s full profile.

My Groups