Marcus Rose

San Antonio, Texas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, Japanese, Korean, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I'm definitely an entreprenuer by heart, but I have spent...
  • College Graduate. Studied English Literature and Japanese.
  • From Grew up in the deep south--South Carolina.
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me


My mission is to explore different countries and cultures across the world. I have a deep passion for more than just simple sightseeing, rather, I enjoy meeting natives of other countries and learning how they think, act, feel about the world.


Well, I figure like most people who would join a site like this, I'm pretty adventurous and have a desire to meet people in other places.
I travel a lot around the US for work and personal pleasure, but I love going abroad. Working on a way to to travel abroad on a very regular basis. Right now, I spend summers and holidays abroad. 2010 and early 2011 were all about exploring Europe and I spent most of 2011 focused on Central and South America. Depending on what's going on there, I may spend 2012 continuing exploring Central and South America, but I definitely have my sights set on Asia.


It took me many years to realize that at some point you have to take command of your life and live for your happiness. That means something different to each person. For me, happiness is having the freedom to explore the things I enjoy doing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have a lot travel buddies who whose couchsurfing and have great stories. I'm looking for my own both in hosting but mostly in surfing.


Learning new languages. Currently, I'm working bettering my Spanish. I've studied Dutch, Japanese, and grew up speaking a lot of Korean. I wanna pick up Portuguese also.
I always dedicate time to sightseeing during my travels, but I don't make it a point to see every monument ever created. I try to spend more time among doing what native people do.
I enjoy reading, watching movies, sports, and exercising.

Music, Movies, and Books

I am more of a book person than a movie or tv person. I always enjoy a good movie, but I'm pretty picky about films only because I don't like predictable plots.

I listen to all types of music. I grew up with mostly hip hop and R&B, but now I grown to love Reggatone, Salsa, Bachata, Merengue. I also enjoy reggae and still am finding my way in rock and alternative.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am good at teaching and helping others practice languages.

Computers and social media.

Investments and business.

Travel and cities across the world.

Good at navigating and getting around cities.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Mexico, Netherlands, South Korea, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups