Marek Czajkowski

Opole, opolskie, Poland

Wants to Meet Up

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marek’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning German, Spanish, Swedish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Medical graduate travelling around Sweden
  • finished Medical University in Wrocław
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a freshly baked medical doctor trying to bring together his passions for medicine and travelling.
Just right now (in October 2015) I have finished my medical education (13 months of obligatory internship in hospital) and before moving on with my life and working as a doctor in Poland I decided to spend some time travelling. I choose Sweden for my first stop, will see where and when will I go next.
Besides medicine and travelling I do a lot of sports like hiking, sailing, football, running, cycling, skateboarding, swimming, squash, snowboarding, skiing and I always try to spend free time in an active way (going out with friends, attending various free events in town or even organizing some of them). My hobbies right now are definitely e-sports (competitive computer games), learning Swedish and doing some medical research.
What else… I am a friendly guy, I make friends easily. I am a really positive person as I always look for a positive side of every situation or outcome. I am also a bit of a perfectionist, but so far I have always managed to find a satisfying solution for everyone around.
I am always actively looking for every opportunity to learn medicine, to travel and to do as many different things as I possibly can.
My philosophy is this: I believe what Steve Jobs once said, that we can’t connect the dots looking forward. We can do this only looking backwards, from the perspective. So right now I am actively doing a lot of things I feel I should and I hope and believe that they will somehow, someday be a valuable experience at the later stage of my life.
So for now my current mission is to get to know Sweden best I can, learn Swedish and possibly look for a job and some place to stay somewhere around.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

During my studies I couchsurfed in a number of countries (UK, Spain, Marrocco, Italy, Poland) . More recently I had been only taking part in CS meetings in my town (Opole) and in Wrocław. Due to the website's faulty-working issues during the change of CS website I didn't go online since the old webpage (so for around 1,5 years), so my profile is a little empty.
However, every time I couchsurfed abroad it turned out to be the best experience of the whole trip. Many times couchsurfing gave me the opportunity to travel on a budget and do and see things I have never imagined to be possible before the travels.
So far I couchsurfed for 1 week in Bologne and Florence (Italy), 1 week in London (UK), few nights in Rabat (Marrocco) and many times in many places in Spain (ie. Malaga, Tarragona) and Poland.
I have hosted few couchsurfers for some days in Spain (Malaga) and in Poland (Wrocław).


Medicine (especially GP, Cardiology and Emergency Medicine), travelling on a budget, different sports, e-sports, going out with friends, meeting new people, attending various events and definately any good eats!!!

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies = all top100 movies, seen them all, loved most of them. I prefer action movies and military ones, but I can watch every type and still like it.

Music = it changes a lot. Right now I am really into movies' soundtracks, but my all time favourite are relaxing trip hop and house genre and bands like Massive attack, Portishead, Thievery Corp.

Books = I kind of can't find time to read books, always got things to do. I never used to read as much as i would like, sadly. But since I finished studies I am catching up with the lecture. Right now I read mostly fantasy books (Witcher etc.)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I guess this has to go to saving lives while working in the emergency department in hospital. There is nothing else even close to this.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share with you that after you eat something very spicy/extremely hot, the thing to help you is not milk or anything else, but SUGAR in either solid or liquid (very sweet tea/drink) form! :) this little fact saved my life a few times so i hope it'll help you as well! ;-)

I wish to learn Swedish culture and language while couchsurfing around Sweden, as this country really fascinates me right now.

I hope to find a few kind hosts around Sweden who would share some of my passions and hobbies and we could exchange our experiences and thoughts.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I could share with you a lots of stories and experiences from travels to various countries about which I could speak for days. I would be more than happy help you out with duties around the house, or anything else, cook some Polish food, or at least entertain with a talk or a story over a glass of coffee/tea/beer. I might as well go out with you to do some sports, help you with managing statistic databases for research or even give you some medical advice if you would like.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Monaco, Morocco, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Marek’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups