Marjorie Slovachek's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marjorie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 80, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Retired Jr. high teacher - reading & English specialist
  • B.A. in Education, M.A. in Special Education
  • From Racine, Wi. USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I work with the shelters of the PANI (equivalent to Social Services in the US) with the adolescent girls. My hope is to give them a chance at a better life and prevent them "ending up on the streets."

ABOUT ME

I love to travel when it's possible. Unfortunately, I have lost my travel companion of many years to advanced age and Alzheimer's. I also am an avid duplicate bridge player, playing here in San Jose, CR, at our bridge club.
I do a lot of reading, work on projects for the kids in the shelters and will shortly get very busy with the activities for the holidays.

PHILOSOPHY

"Live and let live." "What you do is your business just as what I do is my business." "Enjoy everyday as much as possible as life is short." (I've lost many many friends and relatives in the last 5 years.)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I just joined and don't know anything about the program, as of yet.

Interests

reading, bridge, traveling, gardening

  • clubbing
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

I like suspense novels but I also read a variety of types of books including the "Chicken Soup books." Movies - I don't like violence, filthy language, or excessive vulgar sex in the movies. In my opinion, it is totally unneeded. I like "happy movies." I don't like "silly romances." I don't watch that many movies. Music - I love classical music and attend almost all of the National Symphony concerts here - I take one of the girls from the shelter with me for the day. I basically like all music except rap and that type of music which makes no sense to me. Again, I don't want to hear music full of violence, sex or filty words.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think of all the traveling I have done, what I really loved was Niagara Falls. I would like to go to Igazzu Falls (can't remember the name of these falls that are tremendous and border on 3 South Am countries - I think Brazil, Argentina & I don't remember.) I also have always wanted to go to the Galapagos Islands but I don't if I can do it any longer as I have very bad arthritis.

When I was young, I did a huge amount of California Gray whale watching and lobbied for them and lectured on this. I always wanted to go to Scammons Lagoon in Baja where the young are born.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am currently taking Open Office with Virtual University. I have enjoyed taking other classes with them. I teach and hopefully share all the time with the kids and anyone else who is interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marjorie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups