Maria Rasmussen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning Spanish
  • 19, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Gap year
  • High School
  • From Lundby, Region Zealand, Denmark
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

I am an 18-year-old girl from Denmark who is currently having a gap year from my studies. I wish for this year to be the most important one in my life, where I visit as many places in the world as my budget and time offers, and as much as I want to go explore, I want to learn a lot about my self and life in general. I want to grow as my travels adds up.

I am very open-minded, I love to talk with strangers for hours and learn about their life and background story, and since I'm a great listener I will not be bored by this talking. I am friendly and can be quite funny if our sense of humor are similar :)

I am very tidy and will make sure not to make a mess. I always respect my hosts, their houses and the space they have offered me to stay at.

I would love to go explore the city with my host or just whatever activity that could teach me about the country could be super cool!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Instead of just going to or hotel or renting a flat, I would love to stay at someone's house and learn about the culture of the country, city or specific area through them. Instead of plainly googling facts about the food and read about historical figures in museums, I think visiting another country is about so much more than that. Learning about how the locals prepare their foods, what social activities they do with their friends and family, and what kind of music is important to them is a way more interesting way to learn about the people of the country and how they live their lives.

Interests

  • culture
  • politics
  • reading
  • world politics
  • exploring new places
  • long walks
  • exploring nature
  • botanics

Music, Movies, and Books

I never watch movies, but I for sure love reading

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2015, the refugee crisis really hit Europe. A lot of Syrians came to Denmark, and there was a huge uproar from the far right side of the political spectrum, and many Danes votes for the nationalistic party "Dansk Folkeparti". Racism was everywhere, and the Syrians who just wanted a safe home was met with people spitting at them, yelling racial and Islamophobic slurs against them. That's when I decided that I had enough. I wanted to be able to show at least some Syrians and other refugees that they were welcome in Denmark despite the hateful nationalists. I, therefore, became mentors for the children in two families in the city I live in. One family was from Syria, the other one from Somalia. Playing with the children and helping them learning the language and feeling safe.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm pretty great at making oreo cheesecake. Just saying.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I might not have a lot to offer myself, but I am open to almost all experiences! Also, I'm always totally down for board games, and I especially love monopoly and Kalaha.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Malta, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!