Logo orange


Hveragerði, Iceland

Maybe Accepting Guests

96% response rate · Last login 6 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria_Anna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile


  • 52 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic; learning Chinese, Danish, Faroese, Japanese, Polish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • tourist guide and ranger
  • Icelandic literature and Tourism
  • From Hveragerði, Iceland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Be happy. In my own way.


I like living in my own pace and usually I don't do things I don't feel like doing. Any kind of commitments and strict plans make me feeling uncomfortable. Being outdoors makes me feeling free and happy.

I feel the happiest when on my lone wolf hiking trips.


I've learnt to enjoy every moment and feel happy with what I have. I don't feel unhappy because there are things I can't reach.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing


I have fun while hosting couch surfers from all over the world and it makes me happy if they like it here in Iceland. I like being a guest myself too, and learn about places I visit from the local perspective. Still it's people I'm most interested in. Couch surfing is a great way to get to know a lot of interesting people and everybody I met this way has left a valuable memory.


I think that what I'm´m most interested in are people, they're so different, so amazing... every person is another story, another world... Otherwise it's hiking and everything what's about being outdoors, be it walking, running, jumping, swimming, cycling. I love nature and animals of all kind. Then come books, theatre and movies...

Music, Movies & Books

I read a lot, all from classics and biograhies to manga. Music is my passion and my Ipod is the first thing I take with me when I go out. I'm CDjunkie as well. I listen to all kind of music, always looking for something new, but my classics are Depeche Mode, Lou Reed and Patti Smith. I'm die hard fan of two Taiwanese bands: Mayday and Sodagreen, so if we talk about music be careful not to mention them, unless you're ready for discussing Mandorock till the late night ;)

Besides all of that I just like listening to good music, of any kind...

I watch loads of movies, mostly Korean, Japanese and Taiwanese ones, I almost never watch American productions, but as a mother of two I've got my fair share of family Disney movies :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One of the most amazing things I've done is to get involved in couch surfing and loving it. I've hosted so many interesting people already and looking forward to meeting more. Being as much introvert as I'm it's something really astonishing, even for myself. Surfing someone's other couch was even harder thing for me to start, but now I think I can pull it off too :)

Teach, Learn, Share

“Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road.” ― Jack Kerouac, On the Road

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can teach my hosts how to knit "lopapeysa", an Icelandic style of wool sweater . And I can tell my hosts all about Iceland (or any other country I've visited) and help them to plan their trip there, if they like. I can share other stories too, it all depends on my host. Or I can introduce you to some cool Taiwanese music... hahahaa... Unfortunately I'm a terrible cook..., sorry about that. But I'm an expert at dog walking, if you have one :)

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greenland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Iceland, Netherlands, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria_Anna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile