Logo orange

Marie-Line Villers

EDINBURGH, midlothian

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Line's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 292 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • traveller (and php programmer)
  • bachelor Computer Science - Multimed...
  • From Oostende, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

be the peace I am searching for

ABOUT ME

What´s in a name... The one my parents gave me, is Marie-Line, pronounced like ´Marilyn´ but written differently.

I love feeling alive by doing lots of things, taking random classes (from dog training to chocolate making) and meeting people. But I like as much to just hang and do nothing. The last 8 years I have been living quite a nomadic life, on the way meeting my Canadian husband Shane and now we are happy to settle in Edinbugh, Scotland, excited to see more of Eastern Europe in holidays and meet many other traveling souls.

Food is one of the biggest blessings in life for me, except for onions, they wouldn't be existent in my perfect world. I love to try new food everywhere I go.

I enjoy learning from the people I meet, like you. :)

PHILOSOPHY

I traveled to many places and met amazing people. There is no right or wrong way to do things.. You're your own worst critique, be nice to yourself, and take time to listen to who you are and what your path is without everything around it defining it for you. It doesn't matter, just dance, just jump, just scream, just be whoever you want to be and create.

There's no road to happiness, happiness is the road

Don't dream your life Live your dream.

You must be the change, you wish to see in the world

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but about learning how to dance in the rain.

Don´t cry because it's over, smile because it happened.

Traveling is looking at yourself on a different background...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

CouchSurfing has been a big part of my lifestyle the last years, my biggest passion in life is to bring people together.

Further I tremendously enjoy participating in the many CS events wherever I am or travel to, and I very much enjoy organizing meetups and activities where ever I pass by.

If you have any questions or need advise about couchsurfing, please message me and I'll be there to help you out. This is a great and open community, with tons of options to fill your life with social activities, traveling and really getting to know the place you're at and the people, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I know you'll all agree on this but still... to me (and you probably (: ) it is amazing to really sleep in someones home, wherever that may be in the world, it feels like so much more than traveling, like 'really' being there for a while, not as a real tourist but someone experiencing it all. I also love joining as many CS activities as I can and meeting people that way. I like showing you around wherever I am living at the time.

Surfed a ton of times all over USA, Europe, South America and Australia with great people... . I first kept a list, then deleted it, but then regretted it as it's a fun way to remember my surfing adventures for myself, so here it is back :) I will DEFINITELY need to pay a lot back in couchsurfkarma because I´ve couchsurfed a LOT more than hosted, but whenever I have my own place my door is wide open!

Surfed With: Peter, Santa Cruz CA, USA Chris, Boston, MA, USA Awesome Allyson, Orinda CA, USA Ray, Homestead FL, USA Jon, Key West, USA John, Miami, USA Justin, Buffalo NY, USA John and Mark, Rockville, USA Mike, Boston, USA Philip, Boston, USA Andres, New York, NY, USA Eli, Boston, USA Billy, Chicago, USA Praveen, Chicago, USA Miri, Berkeley, USA Marcy & Davey Kay, Austin, USA George, NJ, USA Amit, Dileep and Frank, Jersey City, USA Seth, New York, USA Alejandro, Brooklyn NY, USA Allyson, Greenwich CT, USA Mabel, Queens, USA Brandy, Brooklyn NY, USA Sachin, Long Island, USA Bastien, New York, USA Sarah, New York, USA Els, Hasselt, Belgium Pieterjan & Erlinde, Gent, Belgium George, Brussels, Belgium Philipp, Metz, France Marieke, Gent, Belgium Martin, Maastricht, Netherlands Kevin, Rotterdam, Netherlands Bernard, Bruges, Belgium Kyle and Maren, Cologne, Germany Jonathan, Aachen, Germany Bastien and Melanie, Paris, France Bart, Antwerp, Belgium Joke, Ghent, Belgium Clara, Liege, Belgium Manuel in Dublin, Republic of Ireland Ignacio in Dublin, Republic of Ireland Rose May in Amsterdam, Netherlands Clemence in Lille, France Tessa in Beerse, Belgium Daniel in Vienna, Austria Olivier in Lille, France Lauren in Berkeley, USA Lazer in Joshua Tree, USA Rosy in Lima, Peru Ricardo in Ica, Peru Lizandro in Puno, Peru Lizzie in Cochabamba, Bolivia Javier in Tarija, Bolivia Romy in Sao Paulo, Brazil Leticia in Sao Paulo, Brazil Eduardo in Brasilia, Brazil Claudiomar in Brasilia, Brazil Mayara in Pirenopolis, Brazil Almir in Recife, Brazil Juliana in Maceio, Brazil Monique in Aracaju, Brazil Renato in Salvador, Brazil Bernardo in Belo Horizonte, Brazil Eduardo in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Victor in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Paulo in Curitiba, Brazil Tatiana in Blumenau, Brazil Trevor in Florianopolis, Brazil Simone in Porto Alegre, Brazil Alejandra in Montevideo, Uruguay Ezequiel in Buenos Aires, Argentina Silchu in Buenos Aires, Argentina Nicolas in Cordoba, Argentina Ivan in Huaraz, Peru Maria Eugenia in Esmeraldas, Ecuador Sergio in Medellin, Colombia Wayne in Medellin, Colombia Maribel in Bogota, Colombia Sara in New Orleans, USA Abott in Lake Tahoe, USA Delia in Hawaii, USA Bob in Hawaii, USA Pam and Shane in Sydney, Australia Thomasso in Sydney, Australia Tim in Brisbane, Australia Wayne and Margot in Rockhampton, Australia John in Airlie Beach, Australia Steve in Cairns, Australia Gernot in Cooktown, Australia Genie in Townsville, Australia Leia in Melbourne, Australia jFred in Melbourne, Australia Stefan in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia River and Willow in Golden Valley, Tasmania, Australia Clint in Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia Mike in Coles Bay, Tasmania, Australia David in Orford, Tasmania, Australia Annie in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia Patrick in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia Stina and Lovell in Cattai, Australia Stacey in Newcastle, Australia Chris in Port Macquarie, Australia Sybil and Jason in Port Macquarie, Australia Shane in Coffs Harbour, Australia Adam in Gold Coast, Australia Martin in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia .... Hosted: In California: Marieke from Belgium Nadia from the Netherlands In New York: Allyson from USA Lauren from USA Marieke from Belgium In Belgium: Viktor from Hungary and Kendra from USA Allyson from USA Shruti, Lisa and Jessica from USA Jade from Canada Dee from Canada Nelly from Antwerp In Cusco, Peru: Dileep, Frank, Chris and a whole bunch of others from New York In Sucre, Bolivia: Maria from Equador In Airlie Beach, Australia: Camille and Melissa from France Barbara and Isabella from Austria Maxime from Canada Lovell from Sydney and Stina from Sweden Mel from Berlin, Germany Max and Larissa from Germany Sheepi from Hongkong Kathrin from Germany Ursula from Germany -- and had the honor to live in the house of John, who hosts so much so I got the pleasure of 'co-hosting' tons of people thanks to him :) -- stopped updating this in 2012 and lost the count now.

If you leave a reference, please think about the significance of it. The referencing system is an important safety check, so please only leave a reference when you feel like you know the person well and have something to say about him or her. Please don't leave references like 'she seems nice' after meeting me for 5 minutes... I understand that if you are new you want to 'build up' your profile, but if you message me I will leave you a one-sided beginners reference if you want to get you started. Please also don't ask to get vouched for, I will vouch for you when I feel like it's appropriate. If you ask, I will most likely change my mind towards not doing it. :)

Interests

I intensely love the entire big ball under my feet

Traveling and exploring makes me feel alive.

I love rose quartz, trees, rats, wolves, dogs and ukuleles a lot. And I really love doing yoga and running (should pick this up again), hanging out with the people I love and meeting new people, and most of all connecting them together, I love animals and nature, and sitting at places on my own, preferably with my back against a tree.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

having a bunch of CS networking, John Butler Trio, a fire in india, thanksgiving, tarot cards, and raspberries all work together for me to meet my dear husband on the other side of the world in Tasmania.

Teach, Learn, Share

First, I would recommend to experience a Vipassana course. It teaches you to observe yourself and take your life really in your own hands. There's many other ways to do this but I liked the guidance and bootcamp style you get at this one as I mostly need my ass kicked and need to go full into something to not give up :)

I took some photography classes and love taking pictures therefore I could teach you about aperture/shutterspeed, filters, lenses etc... I love photography as it does something my mind can't, it captures the moment.

If you want to help the world, except for volunteering and coming up with great ideas, there is something very easy and fullfilling to do: microloans! You can lend some money to people to help set up their business. See http://www.kiva.org Nothing to lose! And it feels great knowing that even if you're not doing anything you do help a tiny bit someone somewhere :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Gambia, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Scotland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Line's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile