Mario Galván

San Nicolas de los Garza, Nuevo Leon, Mexico

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Engineer
  • Master
  • From San Nicolás de los Garza
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To rock around the world.


I am not a complicated person. I consider myself easygoing and open-minded. I really enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds and cultures, that is the reason I moved to Europe. I have been living in Germany for the last 4 years. I studied a Master in Computational Engineering oriented to Mechanical and Civil Engineering here, and since then I have been having a great time in Europe.

Besides that, I just wanna rock and have fun! I'm a music lover, I listen to music all the time and really love playing guitar. Well, personally, I am rocker guy since I was 13 and I think I will always be till I die. However, since I moved to Europe, I open my taste to different genres, even to Mexican music which, ironically, I used to dislike it when I was living there. In Germany I have played lead guitar in student bands folk music with people from Madagascar, Russia, Slovenia, India, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico and Germany (of course). Music is a good way to unite people and get to know other's cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I find the concept really awesome: you can travel to different places and get to know locals who can help you to discover their cities, staying at their places and share each other's cultures. Or the other way around, you can host people and give them a tour, learn about them, spread your traditions and customs and basically make friends.

Couchsurfing has led me to meet interesting people, either by CS meetings or staying at a couch. Actually, I have been not quite active at staying at other's couches or hosting people (thing that I want to change). Well, I just once couchsurfed because of a such an unfortunate situation, but thanks to CS I could make it. Quite funny and worrying story that I am always happy to share. Shit happens sometimes but the experiences are unique.

I have been watching a German show lately about couchsurfing: "Auf dem Sofa durch...". A guy who surfs in different cities around the world and records his experiences. I would like to try it, but now in a proper way!


As I stated before, I love music, so everything related to music and guitars is appealing to me. I like live-music, going to concerts and festivals, and jamming when it is possible.

I am a football fan, not a die-hard fan but I like watching football games of Mexican league or the European Champions league. I like American football as well.

Also, I like traveling and am interested in languages. German has been tough to me to learn to but I would like to learn another languages, especially from Scandinavia or Russian (the next FIFA world cup is coming ;) ).

And I like hanging out with friends, meeting people and, of course, am always down for some beers at some bar. \m/

Music, Movies, and Books

I am open to different kinds of music, no matter where it comes from, but my only condition is that guitar has to have a main act, otherwise it is boring to me. That is why I don't like Pop, Rap, Techno etc.
Well, I like Rock, Metal (almost all sub-genres), Jazz, Punk, Grunge, Blues, Ballads, Latin etc.

Regarding movies, not a fan of a specific genre but I could list some of my favorites: Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, The silence of the lambs, The butterfly effect, Pulp fiction, A clockwork orange, Into the wild, Rocky saga, Star Wars, Back to the Future, Whiplash.

German movies: Knockin´on heaven's door, Gegen die Wand, Die fetten Jahren sind vorbei, Soul Kitchen, Sonnenallee.

Mexican movies: Y tu mamá también, Amores perros, Rudo y cursi, Nosotros los nobles, Rojo amanecer.

About books, I am a fan of scandinavian crime fiction: Henning Mankell, Stieg Larsson, Jo Nesbo, Camilla Lackberg.
I also like novels in Spanish like the ones of Gabriel García Márquez.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Well, of course Spanish language, Latin American music and not that I am a good cook but I could teach you Mexican cuisine.

Learn: Culture and traditions.

Share: Experiences and suggestions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, France, Netherlands, Slovenia, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Mexico

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups