Logo orange

Mark Roth

Bellevue, WA, USA

Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 25 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Computer Programmer
  • MSc Computer Science; BSc. Computer ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

************ Couch is only available to those who have hosted. (sorry, I get a lot of requests) ************ ************ Busy until June 11th, so no requests before that date please *********************************** ABOUT ME

I was born in South Korea but adopted by a Canadian family when I was 3. The word that best describes me would be banana - yellow on the outside and white on the inside. I'm a very laid back type of person and live life at my own pace.

PHILOSOPHY

nihilist in theory; secular humanist in practice.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By contributing to the supply of couch surfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a few times and couchsurfed a few times.

Interests

rock climbing, origami, astronomy, computers, cooking, photography, ethics, philosophy, psychobiology, neural networks, economics, science, documentaries, mountain biking, badminton, etymology, entomology

Music, Movies & Books

I'll listen to music when it's on, but I don't pursue an interest in it; I'm perfectly content sitting in silence with my own thoughts.

Movies: Usual Suspects, Shawshank Redemption, Seven, Braveheart, Forest Gump, The Fugitive, The Princess Bride, Star Wars (original).

TV: Entourage, BSG.

Documentaries: Zeitgeist, Why we go to war, The history of oil, Planet Earth, The Elegant Universe.

Anime: Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Appleseed, Casshern, Death Note, DBZ, Fate Stay Night, Naruto.

Books: The Fountainhead, Hegemony or Survival, Brief History of Time, White Mans Burden.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Climbed Huayna Potosi (6088m) [Bolivia] Poked a stick into flowing lava [Guatemala] Swam with penguins [Galapagos] Saw the centre of the milkey way [Chile]

Teach, Learn, Share

I used to tutor math and physics for varsity athletes, but that's boring, I can teach you how to make origami.

I can also fix your computer.

Things that I want to learn are Spanish and French, different types of cooking, entomology, calligraphy, and quantum physics.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Serbia, Spain, Tanzania, United Republic of, Thailand, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile