Mark Olsthoorn

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fire Engineer
  • Civil Engineering and Fire Safety Engineering
  • From Oakville, ON
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm currently on a seven month trip from Guatemala to Colombia to improve my Spanish and learn about the Latin American culture.

Estoy en un viaje de siete meses desde Guatemala hasta Colombia para mejorar mi español y aprender sobre de la cultura de Latino América.


I'm an easy going Canadian guy; spent most of my life in Ontario then studied 2 years in Europe, got hooked on travelling and learning about new cultures. After that I worked in Australia for 2 years as an engineer before quitting my job to start this trip.

Soy un tipo fácil que va desde Canadá . Yo he vivido la mayoría de mi vida en Ontario y luego fui a Europa por dos años para estudiar. Cuando estaba allí me enganché de viaje y aprendiendo sobre otras culturas. Después yo viví y trabajé como ingeniero en Australia por dos años antes de renunciando mi trabajo para empezar este viaje.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I travel I enjoy meeting people who live in the places I visit, seeing how they live, and sharing good food and conversation, rather than just doing the touristy things.

Cuando yo viajo me gusta conocer gente que vive en los lugares que visito, ver como ellos viven, y compartir buena comida y conversación, más que solo hacer las cosas turísticas.

I've couchsurfed in Austria, Belgium and Australia as well as hosted when I lived in Scotland and Australia.

Yo he surfeado los sofás en Austria Bélgica y Australia y también he sido el huésped cuando yo vivía en Escocia y Australia.


I enjoy most outdoor activities including hiking, rock climbing, scuba diving, cycling and swimming.
I also enjoy a good beer or wine.

Me gusta mucho las actividades afueras, incluyendo caminando, escalando, buceando, paseando en bici y nadando. También me gusta una buena cerveza o vino.

Music, Movies, and Books

Love watching movies, but for some reason am useless at remembering actors/actress' names or what movies they've been in.

Pretty easy to please in terms of music; generally like rock/indie music but started to get into some electronic, hip hop and Australian bands the last couple years. Always enjoy acoustic guitars around a campfire and live music in general.

Me gusta muchas tipos de música. Generalmente me gusta el rock y música independiente, pero empecé a apreciar la electrónica, hip hop y bandas Australianos en los dos años pasado. Siempre me encanta la guitara acustico al lado de una hoguera y la música en vivo en general.

Enjoy a good book, but rarely read while working.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I got to swim with pilot whales when I was in Utila Honduras this year!

Yo nadé con ballenas pilotos cuando estaba en Utila Honduras esta año!

Teach, Learn, Share

One of my main goals of this trip is to practice and improve my Spanish so I would like to talk with you!
We can also do a language exchange if you would like to practice your English.

Uno de mi primer objetivos por este viaje es para practicar y mejorar mi español, así yo quiero hablar contigo! También podemos hablar en ingles sí tu quieres practicar tu ingles.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Honduras, New Zealand, Sweden, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups