Mark Simmons

Paris, Île-de-France, France

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 11
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian; learning Spanish
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • gardner
  • university
  • From California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to meet people who are open minded, tolerant, interesting, and....nice!
rencontrer des gens curieux, ouvert, tolerant, et surtout...sympas!

ABOUT ME

We are basically city boys who are now looking for a quieter life. We moved to Paris in the summer of 2015 to be with family and friends, but are now looking for a smaller city to live in where we can be closer to nature but not be isolated. Some of our favorite things to do are: having a nice dinner with people we love, cooking, gardening (Mark), baking and Krav Maga (Troy), hiking, drinking wine, and relaxing together. We are curious about other people and places.
We've been together 22 years, and finally got married in 2014 in San Francisco when California legalized gay marraige! (Same year as France!)

PHILOSOPHY

be kind to our neighbors!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Both stay with and host couch surfers

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All experiences have been very positive

Interests

Passionate about anything botanical, also cooking, Slow Food, walking (in the city and country and mountains and beaches), music, film, travel, speaking French and Italian whenever possible, hiking, nature, wine...

Music, Movies, and Books

Old, new, funny, sad, tragic, insane, existentialist, sentimental, whatever...
Can't stop listening to David Bowie these days. I also love classical, jazz, folk, Brian Eno, Radiohead, James....just to name a few. There are too many good music groups to list.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can't just think of one thing:
Hitchhiked over 1000 miles in Australia.
Volunteered in Nicaragua with a medical team.
I have lived an amazing 22 years with my husband Troy (still).
Played in a band called Babooshka in Los Angeles in the 1980's.
Moved to France!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Denmark, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Peru, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups