Marlene LeGates's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlene’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian, Spanish; learning French
  • 74, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • I'm retired from university teaching although I still tea...
  • I have a Ph.D.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To pursue all my interests, in as leisurely a fashion as I can: gardening, traveling (of course), birdwatching, classical music (Early Music), reading, yoga (Kundalini), and my grandchildren.

ABOUT ME

See "current mission" above. In addition, I am currently president of the Canadian section of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.
Note for surfers: We go to bed early and, while we love to have a meal with you, we do look forward to some quiet time after dinner for reading, listening to music, or watching TV to unwind from the day. Also, I regret to say we don't drink coffee so if it's really important to you, bring your own.
We love to see the souvenirs from your country but we're really trying to cut down on clutter, so if you do want to bring something, please make it consumible. It doesn't have to be from home; tea, chocolate, wine, pastries, or the like are always appreciated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We've hosted people from Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Mexico, Guatemala, Australia, Oregon and Washington State. We've had wonderful experiences staying with hosts in Spain, Ecuador, and Washington State.

Interests

We travel extensively; like hiking, birdwatching, culture, music (especially early music), gardening, working for social justice.

  • culture
  • fashion
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • hiking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Probably the most was hiking the Camino de Santiago by myself, to celebrate my retirement. A wonderful experience!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belize, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Peru, Spain, Tanzania, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlene’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups