Martina Hedenius's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning French
  • 47, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • University lecturer, Researcher
  • PHD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

We are an adventure-loving family of 6 (my husband Robert, myself, our two teenage daughters Lova and Elina, our dog Teo and our cat Svea). We live in the beautiful small town of Sigtuna, about 35-40 minutes away from the capital of Sweden, Stockholm. Sigtuna is Sweden's oldest town and offers a lot of historic atmosphere. We also happen to live about 50 meters from sweden's third largest lake, Mälaren.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We love to travel and meet new people from all around the world. We are open to host travelers as well as travelling ourselves.

Music, Movies, and Books

Martina: loves to discover new music, movies and books, and is currently very grateful to her daughters for widening her music taste in exciting directions.

Robert: Music: Bruce Springsteen, Movies: Documentaries (about Bruce Springsteen), Book: Born to run (You know, that book about Bruce Springsteen)

Elina: Favorite band of all time is definitely twenty one pilots, but she also likes stuff like alt j and unknown mortal orchestra. She isn't really that picky about stuff that isn't twenty one pilots. Favorite TV series is breaking bad, and she keeps saying that her favorite book is the one about a gorilla she read when she was 11. She also really likes serial killers.

Lova:

Teo: Likes whatever music that makes people dance. (He loves to jump in) Isn't that picky about movies. Everything is good as long as he can join on the couch.

Svea; Probably classical music, as long as it isn't too loud. Movies is probably the same as Teo, although she doesn't like to share the couch with him.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We lived in Washington DC for one year. Martina was working as a researcher in the Brain and Language lab at Georgetown University. Lova and Elina went to Hyde Elementary school, and Robert was a stay-at-home dad while studying psychology. We had an amazing time.

Teach, Learn, Share

We'd love to teach you about Sweden, swedish and swedish culture. (Like how to fika like a real swede)
If you're staying in our home, we are very happy to show you around Sigtuna and perhaps Stockholm aswell. If you're here during the winter, we'd love to take you ice skating on the lake. If it's not winter, we're happy to lend you our rowing boat or Robert's kayak.

Other things certain members of the family can teach you are:
How to do a mediocre juggle with three balls, or potatoes, if that's closer to hand.
How to make the perfect coffee according to Martina. (I'm a real coffee nerd)
Some basic ukulele, guitar and piano.
How to make some badass meatballs or swedish pankakes.
Teo can also teach you how to look really cute while farting.

We'd love to learn more about your country and culture. If there's some other skills you'd like to share with us we would be delighted. We love to learn new things in general.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Same as above, but we'll probably leave farting Teo at home.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Belize, Costa Rica, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Seychelles, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Japan, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile. It’s free!