Martina Castaldini's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, Italian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Master Student...almost!
  • Middle Eastern Studies
  • From Emilia-Romagna, Italy
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm currently an au-pair in London. After graduating from my BA in Arabic and Politics in London, I decided to take a year off before starting a master in Middle Eastern studies. Now the year has almost passed and I'm almost ready to move to Lund, south of Sweden...ready for a new place, a new beginning, a new experience.
I would say I'm an independent and adaptable person, easygoing and quite direct, so don't worry, if there's something I don't like I'd just let you know! ;) I am definitely not good at talking about myself, but I do like getting to know new people, share experiences, ideas and...recipes: I do like cooking, especially in company and with some wine!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Having the chance to get to know people and enjoying a more authentic experience while travelling the world.

Interests

I really like walking around places. I started appreciating it when I moved to London: walking gives you the chance to pay attention to more particulars, get struck by what is going on around you, think and discover. Walking around London has also made me appreciate walking in nature more and more!! Despite walking, I like cooking, as I said before, hanging with my friends, whether listening to music, having a nice chilled or philosophical chat, or just watchng a movie. I enjoy having people over at my place, or just go at theirs, I don't need to go out to have some good time, although a good dancing night out is just what you need every now and then!

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • walking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

At the moment I'm into rock, indie and folk music, but I don't despise a nice pop song and the kitch classics! Dance and electro music is not really my thing. I wish I understood more about jazz music, I'm working on it.
I spent a while not reading much, academic articles took all the energy out of me, but I really like reading and I'm trying to get back to this good old habit.
I am missing some important European classics, which I'm trying to catch up, and I recently read some pieces of American and Middle Eastern literature which I really enjoyed.
I am very versatile about movies...the only ones I really don't like are horrors.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking with two friends from Jerusalem to Jericho through the desert, following the path of a small river, lost into nature.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, France, Germany, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Palestine, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile. It’s free!