Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 41 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Italian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Traveller for now
  • BSc Zoology, PGCE Biology teacher, life
  • From Farnham, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To get a job in NZ , which allows me to have time to be creative, thereby being able to bring joy to others in the form of ridiculous cartoons and pictures.

I want to find out about the world, be happy in it and live sustainably with it. I love seeing new things, places, meeting new people. I love the natural environment, all types of plants and animals, particularly rabbits. My favourite pastimes include drawing and painting, gardening and cycling I always intend to do yoga and meditation but rarely get round to it. I want to travel in a more environmentally friendly way and discover and practice ways of living in harmony with the planet.


Be excellent to each other! I think I got that from Bill and Ted's Amazing Adventure. But I think its as good a philosophy as any. I want to live in a world where humans learn to love one another, treat one another with respect and develop their wisdom. I want humans to focus on living healthily and in harmony with the planet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


At the moment I have no home. But Couchsurfing has provided lots of open doors for me and enabled me to meet such amazing people that I would like to continue to have this as an option until I do have my own place. I have lived in share houses where we accepted couchsurfers and help xers and I think this type of community is invaluable for both parties so we can all understand one another and form bonds with people from different cultures and backgrounds.


So far I have only had positive experiences through couch surfing.


Rabbits. Reading. Exercising a bit. Drawing and Painting. Chatting with interesting people, and sometimes boring people. Cake and coffee. Baking. Sewing. GARDENING!

  • animals
  • rabbits
  • environment
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegan
  • exercise
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • partying
  • gardening
  • cartoons
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • biology
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Argh! So many. Really getting in Terry Pratchett at the moment, and I've also started reading the star wars books, the films, the early ones are obv. amazing! I love the lord of the Rings trilogy and the book too. Music! SO MUCH! Radiohead beats any other music basically. Even their new stuff you haters! But I just love too much to even list. I love 80s and 90s music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Everything about living life on an animal sanctuary. Trekking in Nepal to Annapurna base camp, awe inspiring. Terrifying Tongariro crossing experience in NZ.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I'm a biology teacher - sort of - so I could teach a bit of that if anyone has children who want a bit more tutoring. I also LOVE drawing, so I'd be happy to spend time doing that, and I can teach the little yoga I know. I'm also known for building herb spirals when I do help X at peoples places so I can assist with that if anyone has herb spiral plans...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Vegan cooking skills
Gardening skills
just a general like to be helpful-ness

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malaysia, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups