Matthew White's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student (Undergraduate Senior)
  • University of Utah
  • From Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Hello, my name is Matt! I am anticipating an incredible 90 day journey through Europe this coming summer, and could not be more excited to meet some new friends :) When I am not putting the finishing touches on an Economics degree, I can be found skiing, hiking, or cycling. I like to stay active while traveling, and my preferred mode of transportation is a bicycle. I am often regarded as well-spoken, respectful, affable, and agreeable. Hope to meet you soon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on Couchsurfing in order to broaden my perspectives and meet new people, local to the areas in which I will be traveling. I look forward to an exciting adventure!

Interests

  • clubbing
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • economics
  • public policy
  • breweries

Music, Movies, and Books

I particularly enjoy Beatnik literature and politically relevant documentary films.

My favorite band (by far) is RHCP, and I can't wait to see them at Benicassim in July! I have also been listening to a fair bit of electronic, specifically Amine Edge & Dance, whom I shall be seeing whilst in London at Ministry on May 13!

In no particular order, a few other artists on my playlists: Pablo Moses, Guster, Bob Dylan, Arcade Fire, Fleetwood Mac, Carole King, Outkast, Kasabian, Fischerspooner, STRFKR, and Odesza. I am also interested in local (underground-ish) rap/hip hop, after having grown up in the Detroit area where this type of music is prevalent.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This is a better question for ten years down the road, but skydiving was an adrenaline-filled experience that I thoroughly enjoyed. I would like to do a Trans-Pacific sailing trip in the next 5-10 years, and I suspect that could fill this category better -- but who knows what I may experience tomorrow!

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy learning most about cuisine, but am very keen to soak in everything I can. Let's share some food and drink!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Any assistance that may be required, some incredible American BBQ to eat, good conversation, and a beaming smile :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Dominican Republic, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!