Matthew Valli

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • PHP Programmer/Web Developer
  • B.F.A. Film Production / CIS Web Development Certificate
  • From Roseville, CA, USA
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me


Exploring what it means to be free of reservations, responsibility and a watch! Currently traveling NZ before settling in OZ on a year long working holiday visa.


I am currently traveling New Zealand with my girlfriend before settling for the year in who-knows-where Australia. I've been backpacking for years and have covered more than 19 countries so far. For some reason I haven't joined CouchSurfers until now but I'm more than willing to become an active participant in both surfing and hosting once settled in Australia.

I graduated from the University of Colorado, Boulder in 2009 where I studied Film Production. I couldn't find work so I moved to LakeTahoe where I worked as a ski instructor in children's ski school and film/edit web videos for the resort's marketing department. Last year I returned to school for a crtificate in Computer Science focused on Web Development.

After working with many Kiwis and Aussies I decided to move abroad for a year before working my way Westward across the Globe! Let the adventure begin!


Life happens now, live it now.

Do on to others as you wish them to do on to you.

Have fun!

Try something new every chance you get.

Challenge your fears!

Live life for yourself, not for the expectations others have for you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Currently, I'm traveling and will be surfing. Upon getting a job and apartment I plan on hosting.


No experience yet...looking forward to it!


All outdoor sports. I'm a big skier, snowboarder, rock climber, hiker, and much much more. I am planning on picking up surfing in Australia over the next year.

Music, Movies, and Books

Pretty much any and everything...there is little I don't like.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Two things one must do in life: Skydive, Ski/Snowboard, and attend Octoberfest.

Teach, Learn, Share

Anyone who has something interesting to say or share, which is pretty much almost anyone.

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups