Matthew Gember

Chicago, IL, USA

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew ’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Composer, Dancer, Performer, Educator, Writer, Nomad, and...
  • Bachelor's in Music Composition
  • From Chicago
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Explore, Learn, Teach, Experience, Share.


Right now I am living a life that is not so deeply rooted anywhere, still moving about from place to place spontaneously and intuitively. The only constant element is the music project I carry with me. Such a lifestyle has both incredible benefits and sacrifices. Soon enough, however, I will take root somewhere more deeply. Build a home, and even a community, embedded in nature, most likely in Northwestern America. It will serve as a headquarters, and from there I still plan on extending to other parts of the world. (yes, age 30 and still an idealist)

I thought the place to ground was going to be Oregon. It still might be, but I seem to be drawn other places time and time again. So I'm currently building my home and my practice within, carrying that wherever I go. This will indeed take me to an actual 'place' to call home. And until then I will continue to move about, engaging with people and places, building relationships and ideas with which to build on in the future.

There are a number of projects/ideas I am currently developing and nurturing, concerning music, mind, body, performance, and pedagogy. This entire concept and process in which I am living is essentially the project itself. It's called "The Oakfoot Running" and it can be heard here:
(seriously begging for development)


This philosophy is constantly developing; I don't think I could update this frequently enough. Best to discuss in person.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Not too active these days, but I look forward to the day I can host as many as possible for as long as necessary. In fact, I will design a home and guest home with travelers in mind. :)


Infinite. Gratitude Gratitude Gratitude. And heartfelt memories.


People. Nature. Sound. Music. Open Tunings. Maps. Research. Learning. Teaching. Yoga. Meditation. Dance. Reading. Writing. Dreaming. Surfing. Snowboarding. Hiking. Mysticism. New Science. Permaculture. Self-Providing Communities. Eco-Homes. Healthy Foods. Cooking. Smoothies. Nomadicism. Manifestation. Intuition.

I don't like to think that I fit any stereotypes, but I guess none of us do..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mid-late November. 20 miles deep and 4500 ft up in the rainforests of Northwestern Washington, US. Nobody is out there but me. Snow up to my thighs, I'm at the foot of an immaculate glacier I can barely even see because of the incredible snowstorm. But I can feel it. And somehow, I feel at peace. Completely at ease.

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups