Accepting Guests

  • 7% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 9 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German; learning English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • studying, eating ...
  • highschool diploma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a postgraduate student from Germany doing the MA Global Political Economy in Brighton. For the last 4 years I have been studying Development Studies at the University of Vienna.

Just meet me to know more about me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started using couchsurfing in 2009. Ever since I used it only occasionally while I was traveling or when people needed help in my town. I am not the most active member of this community. But I am very happy to participate from time to time. I met some great people through couchsurfing. Some of them are still my friends.


I studied Development Studies and Global Political Economy. Both are very broad fields of study and have a lot of interesting aspects. If I would have to choose a field which is from particular interest to me, I would say it's political philosophy and social movements.

Besides that I am a big fan of sports. Lately I've started playing Capoeira Angola. It's part of the afro-Brazilian culture and combines dancing, fighting and martial arts. (This is my group:

I like spending time outside in the nature, I like riding my bike, I like vegetarian food, I listen to music a lot, ...

Sometimes I feel angry about how technological progress has changed our world. However, for couchsurfing I am really thankfull.

  • arts
  • culture
  • dancing
  • capoeira
  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • sports
  • martial arts

Music, Movies, and Books

Filme: Steve Zisou and the Life Aquatic, The Darjeeling Limited, Into the wild, Fear and Loathing, Seven Pounds, All the president's men and a lot of documentarys

Music: I listen to all kinds of music as long as I like the sound :). I like Minimal-Techno, and I like Sing and Songwriter like: The tallest man on Earth. A band that accompanied a lot of time is Bright Eyes.

Books: Since I'm studying a lot there is almost no time to read other things than the literature of my class. This is not always fun. And its almost only nonfiction books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cuba, The Rainbow Family, Thousands of people shouting against their authoritarians all over the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak german, so I can probably teach it. Besides that I can show you the world and philosophy of capoeira angola.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some interesting storys about life in Europe

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Cuba, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups