Richard's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.


  • 396 references 344 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Portuguese
  • 75, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • ADVENTURER (retired aerospace engineer and Hawaii REALTOR)
  • BS & MS @ Southern Illinois University
  • From Plainfield, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOTICE: I'm temporarily limited in joining guests in activities due to recent surgery which has limited my mobility. If I have other guests, you will have the option of joining them for exploring and adventure activities. I have a positive attitude about recovery so have not updated other sections of my profile regarding my adventure activities. I'm planning a trip to France in September 2024, and would love to host guests who live there or speak française.

I enjoy hosting and have now hosted nearly 1,000 guests from around the world. I host multiple guests at the same time so you will make many new international friends while here. Guests need to be comfortable with the naturist, clothing-optional, lifestyle of my home and will need to be non-smokers due to my high sensitivity to lingering smoke odor on hair and clothing. Those who are allergic to cats may not do well here since I have 3 that are very friendly. I only host female guests which provides for a more comfortable environment for solo female travelers.

My home has a hot tub which is a great substitute for the pool I had at my Maalaea oceanfront condo where many of my guests have stayed.


I enjoy meeting travelers from around the world, hearing about their experiences, and making new friends. I provide a relaxing environment for visitors, share my knowledge about Hawaii, and sometimes share in Maui adventures. As per the Couchsurfing tradition, the price is simply a happy smile on your face and your attention to cleaning up after yourself. There is much more to life than money; I do not want and do not accept offers of payment.


I enjoy travel and meeting people from around the world. Those with a primary language other than English will find me eager to figure out how to communicate effectively, I'm trying especially hard to learn French and Portuguese. It's a bonus to have company because that gets me out of the house to enjoy Maui adventures.

Although I'm relatively conventional, I've been successful in escaping many of the bonds that used to hold me back. A huge part of that was leaving a rewarding engineering management position on the mainland, moving to Hawaii in 2004, and starting a totally new career. Another is being relaxed in a no-shame/no-hassle clothing-optional home, a lifestyle coming from a mid-life rebellion against my strict upbringing. Not wearing clothes inside my home is customary for my semi-permanent guests and myself while entirely optional for new guests. If unsure if you will be comfortable here, it may be helpful to read references left by others.


Be helpful, harm none, relish change, defy convention when it's fun and harmless, live a full life, be happy, keep a clear mind by avoiding mind-altering substances.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I truly enjoy hosting guests from around the world. Hosting provides a unique opportunity to really get to know a person and learn about their country, their culture, and more. In March 2017 I had a guest who suggested I start a Facebook group where we could all share our pictures. I did and you can view it at I have a minimum stay of 2 nights but no maximum for guests provided everyone is happy. Some guests have stayed as long as 2 and 3 months. As is the couchsurfing tradition, there is no expectation of payment and I do not accept offers of payment.


I continue to meet people from all over the world by hosting visits of a few days to several weeks or even a few months. I've hosted couchsurfers from USA, Germany, France, Belgium, Canada, Japan, Indonesia, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Argentina, Peru, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, England, Tasmania, Australia, Czech Republic, Mexico, Norway, Austria, Russia, Spain, Portugal, Morocco, Latvia, Egypt, and many more. These have been some of the most fun and rewarding experiences in my life. I was a beneficiary when I was hosted for 5 weeks in France in late 2015 and then for 4 weeks in 2016. What fun trips these were, trips that were not simply about sightseeing but more about the delightful people I met! I have fun memories of communicating in my limited français.


I've recently developed an interest in experiencing life in Europe by moving there. Initially I was looking at Madeira Portugal but now I'm focused on South of France.

A special Maui interest is hiking inside Haleakala crater and spending the night in one of the 3 cabins there. The night sky is brilliant due to the high altitude and absence of light pollution. Cabins are very popular and must be reserved 6 months in advance. Rustic cabins have 12 padded bunk beds, wood burning stove, running water, and cooking supplies. There is no electricity and only a pit toilet. I rarely do this anymore but I can give suggestions including the need to reserve about 6 months in advance (they are very popular).

Other interests: Backpacking, hiking, travel, adventure, SUP, meeting new people, movies, home-made ice cream, even board and card games.

  • culture
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • swimming
  • engineering
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • learning languages
  • real estate
  • french food
  • portugal
  • french culture
  • madeira

Music, Movies, and Books

Some Books: Take Back Your Life, Who Moved My Cheese?, Stranger in a Strange Land, An American Tragedy. Books are from years past because I've developed a preference for shorter readings which don't require the time investment of a book.

Some Movies: Taylor Camp, Avatar, Shining Through, Silver Linings Playbook, Elizabeth, Chicago, When Harry Met Sally, Dr. Zhivago.

Music: Adele, Elton John, Mariah Carey, Celine Dion, Bruce Springsteen, Hawaiian (Iz, Kapena, Melinda Caroll), New Age, Didgeridoo, more. I can't believe I was really a fan of Brenda Lee when I was a teen, what was I thinking? No apologies for still liking Connie Francis though!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I used to backpack the Kalalau Trail on Kauai's North Shore every year. It's difficulty is rated 4 out of 5 by the Sierra Club, and is considered one of America's most dangerous. Although grueling and dangerous in places, the reward is the awesome destination--Kalalau Valley itself, the beach, the waterfall, the wild oranges, the waterfall shower, the carefree attitude, and the people one meets. Now that I'm on Maui and a little older, my backpacking trips are pretty much limited to my hikes into Haleakala Crater discussed elsewhere.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have an engineering background, a rewarding profession for 35 years until I quit so that I could move to Hawaii and fulfill a dream of many years. Along the way I've become skilled in lightweight backpacking so as to make it more fun and less of an ordeal to endure. I can offer tips on sightseeing on both Maui and Kauai including places that most never see.

I enjoy learning about things I don't know, especially parts of the world that I have not visited. Hosting guests from around the world is a major source of pleasure for me and it continues to be a great learning experience.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am pleased to share information about life and adventures in Hawaii. I've lived on both Kauai and Maui and can share tips and suggestions for both. We can also share travel adventure stories; I have traveled in North America, Europe, Asia, Central America, and the Caribbean.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Canada, Cayman Islands, France, Germany, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Sint Maarten (Dutch part), South Korea, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

My Groups