Logo orange

Michelle Bangura

San Francisco, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Italian, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Telecom Analyst
  • By listening more than I talk and as...
  • From Farifax, VA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To go fast, very fast.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 27 y/o American. I've spent a majority of the last 8 years living in Munich, and every time I leave it, I miss it dearly. I love red wine, all night house parties with my friends, watching my boyfriend wield power tools, sunshine and seafood. I talk a lot, and more than one person has asked me if I've ever considered stand up comedy. I like most people, and if you're not a scrooge I think you'll enjoy me as well.

PHILOSOPHY

You only have one life to live, don't waste time worrying about what others think. Live to enjoy every moment you can and once you've learned from your experiences, forget the times that sucked.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surf alot, but because I can't seem to settle on where I want to live in this city, I've only hosted a couple of times. Meanwhile I continue to proselytize and spread the gospel of CouchSurfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I carried over too much vacation this year, so I will be doing a lot more traveling. So far I've surfed in:

Vienna with Andi
Barcelona with Hadley
Galway with Guillermo
Brighton with Alessandro
Milton Keynes with Alan and Shane
London with Matt
Liam in London
Hosted Kelly and Nichalli
Hosted Andalib
Yusuf in Istanbul
Ali and Co in Istanbul
Serdar in Istanbul
Mohammed in Marrakech
Mehdi and Hassan in Casablanca
Dory, Tracey, Winston, and Bruce in London
Nadia in London
Rogerio and Anna in London
Miranda in Fremantle
Nadia again, but this time in Perth
Christmas with Caitlin and the fam in Radelaide
New Years with Bettina, Monica, Caitlin, C-lin's Mom, and Steve
Sydney with Monica
Richey in Leatherhead

Interests

My interests are as diversified as my stock portfolio. Computers, gadgets, drinking, traveling, cooking, not cleaning for long periods of time, reading nearly any English book I can get my hands on, starting projects and not finishing them (ie painting my apt), breaking cheap ear bud headphones (on my 15th pair in as many months). Impulse buying, immediately followed by buyers remorse, returning things and buying them for less online. Googling (19,000+ searches since Sep 06! I just looked that up). Drinking, not sure if I already put that, going to bars, not clubs, science museums over art museums, and buying knock-off electronics instead of knock-off handbags.

Music, Movies & Books

Comedies are always good, and not the slapstick try to hard comedy, but the smart dialogue, situational comedy (Larry Davidesque) I also enjoy a really good loud action movie, a big budget fantasy, and although I hate horror films because I have an overactive imagination and irrational fear of the dark I still watch them ALL the time. There are not many books that I will turn down, especially being deprived of good free english books. I don't like the idea of owning books but of borrowing and returning or buying cheap used and leaving them on the train.
Unless techno or electronic is playing in the background, I'll be bopping my head enjoying the tunes. Although I have been moving away from music and spending much more time with podcasts over the last couple years. Remember 1998? That was a great year for music. What happened?

As far as books go, I enjoy a wide range, but I enjoy a story the most when completely different world is the background for an incredible story of bravery/adventure/exploration, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Historical Fiction etc. I also like solving a good ole fashion predictable mystery.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Repelled down the side of a 5 story building in downtown Boston. Survived a day at an amusement park with pre-teen girls. Did something (although I'm not sure what) to deserve a mobile phone curse being put on me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know many things, but I want to learn more things. Let's exchange some knowledge. I'd really like to learn how to spin wool in the near future, so if you have that skill you're welcome to come stay with me and show me how (the sheep can come too).

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile