Mike D McGee's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.


  • 98 references 73 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Professional cynic
  • BA from WWU
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet and host new people, and shit.


I'm 33 and share a studio apt. with my 2 cats. I work M-F and don't have too many opportunities to travel, but am cool with hosting people in need. I also enjoy drinking beer with others, especially when accompanied by good conversation.

In some ways I'm very much a dude in the sense that I like cars, action movies, things that go fast, Iron Maiden, and drinking cheap beer while watching sports. On the other hand, I am also not much of a dude in the sense that I like the English Romantic Poets, cooking, and shoes.

I typically go to bed around midnight and wake up for work between 6-7, or try to anyhow. I've had issues with chronic insomnia in the past, so sometimes I still wake up in the middle of the night for a few hours, but I stay quiet.

Some people think I'm funny, others don't, but they're stupid. I swear and blaspheme quite a bit, so if that sort of thing offends you, then I might not be an ideal host.


Thou shalt try not to be a shithead.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am willing to host anyone that wants to stay, as long as they are ok with sharing space with me. I know my city well, and am more than happy to show people around if i'm not working. Sometimes I say that my couch is not available, usually because I have someone staying or coming in, but feel free to message me anyway because chances are I'll be open when you're planning to be in town.

I'm also active in the local CS community in Seattle, I used to host monthly BBQs at my apartment, but the last one was a little too big (70-75 CSers), so I've stopped doing that. I try to attend at least one CS event per week, so if you want to hang out with other Seattle CSers, we can do that.


I've met some truly wonderful people both through hosting and through local CS events. This is truly an extraordinary way to build community both at home and abroad. Get involved!


I like to read mostly, but sometimes function as a casual gamer. I don't really watch TV and don't have cable. I enjoy wandering aimlessly around town with no purpose except to just walk. Oddly enough, my wanderings usually lead me to go shopping for stuff I probably don't need, or to my favorite watering hole to have a few pints while I read. My favorite time of the year is hockey season, so if you like to watch hockey whilst drinking large amounts of cheap beer, then I am your man.

  • cats
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • shopping
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • cars
  • watching sports
  • sports
  • hockey

Music, Movies, and Books

My first album I purchased, when I was 12, was a Queen album, and I have belonged to rock and roll ever since. My first show was the last show Nirvana ever played in Seattle.

I read a lot of books in the summer, I've taken a bit of a break though, focusing more on exercise and eating habits for the time.

I am an avid podcast listener. My favorites include: The Bugle, Talkin' Shit with Eddie Ifft, The Nerdist, Star Talk Radio, This American Life, Penn's Sunday School, Real Time with Bill Maher.

As for movies, Black Dyanmite is the best thing I've ever seen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw the aurora borealis from my window on a red-eye to London. Three green ribbons with Orion visible beyond. It was very humbling.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you the disappearing card trick and how to make wicked good bangers and mash. Apart from that, I'm pretty useless.

Countries I’ve Visited

Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, France, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 15 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.

My Groups