Logo orange

Megan Williams

Boston, MA, USA

Accepting Guests

34% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Megan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Professional student and research la...
  • Triple major in chemistry, psycholog...
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

IMPORTANT UPDATE and available hosting dates:

I just got back from Iceland, and am slowly making my way through requests... I seem to have a lot for the rest of this month, and for some parts of may and June. Please be patient with me while I try to catch up, I replied to about 60 requests tonight, still have over 100 to go through, so I'm trying to get to them as quickly as possible. If you don't hear from me, don't assume I'm blowing you off- just trying to catch up and re-adjust to the time change! Even if I can't host or you already have a host, I can definitely find a time to meet up and show you cool things around Boston.

CURRENT MISSION

To meet as many people as possible, from many different cultures, and have a kick-ass time doing it :)

ABOUT ME

I love to host, and finally live where I can host! AND CLOSE TO THE BOSTON FINISH LINE! I live alone, although there are multiple rooms, its rather quite large. Im less than a 5 min walk to the green line, 57, and 66 bus lines. About 3-10 minutes walk to the B, C, or D subway lines, about 4 minutes to the 65 bus route, also close to 86, 64, 70, and 71. Right on the brookline/allston line. If you have a car there are parking lots right down the street you can park in overnight with VERY reasonable rates, its about a 10 to 13 minute walk to those. There is TONS to do around my area and I'm happy to show you around as my schedule allows. There are also several markets and other stores within walking distance. There is one flight of stairs you will have to walk up at my place.

I grew up all over since my dad was in the Army and I took the Navy path until a shoulder injury interrupted what I had planned to be a life-long career in the military. Have lived in SoCal, Hawaii, Texas, Florida... basically, all nice warm tropical(-ish) places! Then something possessed me to apply to grad school in extremely cold climates. Ended up moving to Boston to start grad school, and it's definitely a toss up between here, NYC, Philly, and Seattle as to which one gets my vote for my favorite city ever :)

I love collecting and learning about wine, or going out for a (gluten free) drink, making new friends, karaoke, and finding cool new hangout spots. I love to show others around and share some of my favorite places too... I take pleasure in the simple things, like laying on the grass cloudwatching, going for long strolls, sitting and people watching, etc. I am totally in love with the gym and with water, I cannot get enough of the beach or swimming, even in the middle of the winter! Yes, I have actually gone in the ocean while it was SNOWING.

Oh, and im skilled in many different disciplines of circus arts, even have my own equipment at home and would be more than willing to introduce you to the most addictive drug ever: circus. I also have a yoga room you can use, and can introduce you to the acro-yoga community in Boston as well!

PHILOSOPHY

Rule #42: life's too short to take yourself too seriously.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

To me, it's not about giving or getting a free place to stay. It's about learning and sharing. I love to learn about new things- that can be learning about new cultures, new food, new drinks, new places to go that I always walk by without even realizing it, or learning something like a new hobby or how to say a few basic phrases in a new language. I love to share as well... I can share cool things to do and see around Boston, how to do circus-y stuff, whatever your adventure level is up to! I love to run triathlons and the occassional marathon as well as ride and train horses (I train dogs too) and can share tons of tips, resources, training gear, etc around those things. I can even take you horseback riding if you wanted to go! Ever wanted to fly through the air with the greatest of ease? Outdoor flying trapeze sessions start in May and run through October, so I'd love to take you there with me for you to try it yourself- we can teach you at least one or two tricks your first time! I have very basic knitting skills that I can teach you, am a blackbelt in karate and can show you things there, or can simply be a partner in crime, a companion out to a pub or poolhall, a friend to go snowboarding with in the winter, etc!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted many people in and around Los Angeles, California. I've surfed a few places in Colorado, Texas, Massachusetts, New York, and Utah just to name a few. Have hosted a handful of people in my place in Boston as well, and am always up for meeting up to hang out, grab a drink, sight see, or just go off on some random adventure to who knows where!

Interests

Learning new things, meeting new people, and just having a great time!

Music, Movies & Books

I love to read textbooks and research articles- if I can learn, I dig it. There's a bookstore in Rockport, MA that I love to visit that sells used books and is where I've found such treasures such as an autographed Rollo May book, most of my Jung collection, etc (I'm big on psychology, as well as anything to do with the brain).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Black water rafting in New Zealand was AMAZING.

Climbing waterfalls.

Road tripping to Colorado, and back country camping in Zion along the way.

Taking random, spontaneous trips to other places- my first time out in Boston was when I found last minute tickets for less than $150 round trip after taxes and couldn't let the opportunity pass me by... so I got them, and fell in love with the city my first time here.

Staying up all night out on the streets with a bum community, just to have the experience, and telling stories around a trash can fire with them.

Performing aerial hoop in multiple countries, so far my favorite being Iceland.

Getting to see the northern lights while dogsled mushing.

Exploring lava tube caves.

Climbing glaciers.

Cliff jumping off a waterfall.

Living life to it's fullest, and one million percent believing it is better to buy experiences than it is to buy possessions.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always willing to loan my bike if you need one to get around... and I'm willing to teach you whatever I can if I know anything about it/how to do it. I can teach karate, yoga poses, various circus aparatus, some stuff about neuroscience, some cool places to grab a drink, and I have basic knitting skills and can teach you that too.

Also can teach you some recipes and offer some potentially new foods you might not have tried before! The fine print: I do have a severe nut allergy- I am fine with almonds, pistachios, and coconuts! Peanuts I am allergic to even just airborne particles, so for my safety NO PEANUT PRODUCTS MAY BE BROUGHT IN THE HOUSE. I also have celiac disease and a bunch of other random allergies. If you like soy milk in your coffee in the mornings, you're welcome to get your own and use my espresso or coffee machines, but I'd rather you leave the gluten-containing and peanut-containing products elsewhere! I don't eat meat, but do sometimes have a little bit of honey and greek or Icelandic yogurt, so I'm not totally vegan, but if you eat meat, I'm okay with that (my body can't digest the meat proteins but I'm not against others eating meat) I have a fairly sporadic schedule too, since I teach fitness classes and do circus, I'm usually up early to either teach a class or go out on a run, you're always welcome to come along if you wish, or stay behind and sleep in.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Lots of laughs, some drinks, and definitely a GREAT time!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Greenland, Iceland, Mexico, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Megan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile