Melanie Boehme's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 4 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Japanese
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Coffee writer
  • Masters Degree in Marketing & Communications
  • From Schmölln, Thuringia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Melanie, 38 years old and living in Berlin/Germany.

I'm a specialty coffee fan that loves to travel. I'm location independent and working from wherever I want, be it a cafe or a co-working space. I'm a freelance writer and blogger, content creator and a specialty coffee expert.

In summer 2016 I spent almost 2 months traveling the US and exploring the specialty coffee scene and cafe culture there. I went to NYC, Philly, D.C., Seattle/Portland area and San Francisco/Bay area. I visited coffee shops/cafes and roasters, talked to (coffee) people and experienced the North American (specialty) coffee culture and the American lifestyle. Most of the times I stayed with locals, wich was an awesome time spent. I loved it! Whenever I was asked, which part I liked most of my travels, I replied: the people! And, that's the truth!

I just got back from a massive coffee tour through East- and South East Asia, from seed to cup. My mission: To spreading the word about specialty coffee. I've been exploring the coffee and coffee house culture of Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia. And, again, I connected with tons of locals, the people actually living in those countries.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I wanna meet locals while traveling (and working from the road), because I believe it's the only way to really get to know a country and its people/culture. My host doesn't have to be a coffee lover; coffee does connect people, though. ;-)


I love a good conversation. I'm curious and like to get know new people and cultures. I especially like to chat about specialty coffee and cafe culture. Learning a lot about Entrepreneurship, Blogging, Online Marketing and Social Media lately.
I'm a Yoga practitioner and I meditate. I love cooking (vegetarian or vegan - I'm vegetarian) and (especially) baking; love all kinds of sweets/cakes (if you know good spots, tell me!), being in the nature/woods, also hiking from time to time. I like to dance (Lindy Hop/Swing) once in a while. And, I like Rock, Indie and Alternative music. 'Places to go and dance' are very much appreciated.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • photographing
  • street photography

Music, Movies, and Books

Radical Face, books of Murakami Haruki and David Mitchell, Movies: Lost in Translation, most of the Woody Allen and Wes Anderson movies

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling Scotland by car all on my own. Homestay at a tribe family in Northern Vietnam close to the Chinese border. Private tour with a Buddhist nun in Fo Guang Shan monastery in Taiwan.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you a lot about specialty coffee, coffee roasting and cafe culture around the world. But also about Japan and its culture and of course my home country Germany. I'd love to cook a delicious and healthy (vegetarian) meal for my host and/or bake some cake, served with a coffee (I could bring my coffee gear along), of course! This is typical German btw. - Kaffee und Kuchen, which means 'cake and coffee'!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!