Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MELBA0’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 6 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 73, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Self-employed helping professional.
  • The "school of life", plus an honours degree earned as a ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


... to get over the need to have one?


Music is a passion - the serious stuff, especially opera, although I can never understand how I can actually enjoy all those horrendous tragedies and the all but compulsory misogynous story lines! In the real world, I'm passionate about encouraging and celebrating life in its many and not always obviously lovely forms, especially my own!

And the young grandchildren are a constant source of delight.

I enjoy walking, exploring urban / suburban streets, but especially the countryside, tamed or wild. I've relished some wonderful walks in New Zealand, as well as not enough yet overseas. Only last visit to the UK, a friend and I walked around the Lake District. This next visit, I hope to explore the Malvern district - Elgar territory.

I have also got back on the bike. I've cycled two of NZ's great rail trails (Otago & Hawkes Bay). On my last UK visit, I cycled Sussex (Benjamin Britten territory).

All-round home handywoman - I enjoy cooking, gardening, any home maintenance stuff.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm beginning to see the particular strengths in how CSing can work. I was first only interested in finding affordable accommodation for myself on holiday, but now I can see how much building in the personal if fleeting connection hugely enhances the quality of experience for both sides of the exchange.


I've had quite a few CSers to stay, and each visit has gone very well. I've so far had only one experience of using someone else's couch, in the UK two years ago - thanks Chris, for your great hospitality.


Grandchildren; travel; gardening; cycling; work [I'm a counsellor]; and music, especially singing, classical.

  • singing
  • cooking
  • walking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • opera
  • cycling

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see MELBA0’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups