MELFISH's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MELFISH’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - BSL, AUSLAN, NZS
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Primary Teacher
  • Bachelor of Education (Primary Teaching)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make my twenty-tenth year, and all beyond interesting and exciting! Moving to the other side of the world seemed a great place to start! I had a fantastic year living in London, and am now settle once again in Wellington. Really making the most of the wonderful city I live in, trying to get as much out of it as I can. I love meeting new people, and learning about other countries and cultures.

PHILOSOPHY

To be as positive as possible, about as much as possible, all of the time!
Learning is a passion of mine, and I intend never to stop! Meeting new people, trying new things, and pushing my boundaries is a way to do this, and being a CSer seems the perfect place to do this.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was participating in Couch Surfing before I even knew what it was! I was fortunate enough to be introduced to it properly through my flatmate in Wellington, and hosted about 7 people, some for up to a week!

Many of these surfers have turned into close friends. I am lucky to have had a such a fantastic, positive introduction to the CS community. Since then, I made friends with many CSers in Wellington, and many who were passing through.

While living in London, I attended many different events, and enjoyed meeting many different people. It will become a permanent part of my future, be it attending meetings, surfing, and eventually hosting again, once I am settled.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

While living in Wellington for over 11 years, I managed to become an honourary CSer through a flat mate, and made a heap of amazing friends! While living in London I finally become official, did some surfing, and took part in many events.

I have surfed 'officially' only twice, but find that all CSers are hospitable, friendly and inclusive wherever I met them, what ever the situation.

Interests

After teaching, my first love is cricket (preferably live Test matches), and many other sports alongside. I am also a belly dancer, and have been learning for over 4 years. It was this hobby that took me overseas to visit some 20 countries in 2008.
I am a huge fan of music (again live), pub quizzes, museums, cross stitching and general crafting. I love to learn about new and interesting things, so am up for new experiences, and meeting new people.

  • dancing
  • pub crawls
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • sports
  • cricket
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
In no particular order, but that which I copied and pasted: Metallica, Shihad, Supertramp, Led Zeppelin, Michael Jackson, Throw it to the Fire, Dave Grohl, Audioslave, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, Sophie and the Realistic Expectations, Tool, Bush, Supergroove, Foo Fighters, Guns 'N' Roses, The Datsuns, Jez Kemp, Rage Against the Machine, The Library Suits, A Perfect Circle, Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain, Radiohead, Simon & Garfunkel, INXS, The Beatles, Miles Davis, Nirvana, Semisonic, The Killers, Jet, David Bowie, Talking Heads, Green Day, Weezer, Coldplay, The Doors, The Rolling Stones, Fat Freddy's Drop, Hootie & the Blowfish, Bruce Springsteen, Bon Jovi, The Cars, Kings Of Leon...

Movies:
The Departed, As Good as It Gets, Hot Fuzz, Gladiator, Transformers, Forrest Gump, Catch Me If You Can, Disney, Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Shaun of the Dead, Inception, Lost in Translation...

Books/Authors:
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy; The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe series; LOTR; Roald Dahl; Paullina Simons; Artemis Fowl series; cook books!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

visited 22 states (9.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Free iphone travel guide

Teach, Learn, Share

See above. :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see MELFISH’s full profile. It’s free!