Logo orange

Melissa Bracken

Yucca Valley, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • A few years of community college at ...
  • From Central California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To grow our own food, be self-sustainable, learn all that we can and teach all that we can before we expire.

ABOUT ME

We now live in Amberg, Germany. My husband has lived here off and on for about 24 years. I just moved here this year (2014). We will update the address on the account after our trip to Bremen on the 26th of September. We want to let our potential couchsurfing friends know that we have been verified. Though we haven't had the chance to couchsurf yet, we are excited and a little nervous. We are looking forward to making some new friends. We also have a house in Amberg, Germany for any couchsurfers interested in this area. We have a well-behaved Golden Retriever. Otherwise, it's just the two of us. We have two spare bedrooms that are free for use. We will try to accommodate you the best that we can. We can pick you up from the train station if it is after 7pm on weekdays or on most anytime on the weekends.

I prefer purchasing organic produce and making my own food at home. I like to know where my food comes from and plan to eventually be growing all of my food myself. I avoid junk food altogether because I think it is too much of the former and not enough of the latter.

PHILOSOPHY

The golden rule: treat others like you would like to be treated. That sums up our philosophy as concisely as possible.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We are just starting out. We hope to be wonderful hosts and guests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We are new to Couch Surfing and we have not hosted or stayed over with anyone, yet. We are excited to get started and look forward to meeting new people.

Interests

We enjoy gardening. Though we are still beginners, we would eventually like to grow all of our food. David has been a vegetarian for about 22 years. I am almost a vegan. On occasion, my guilty pleasures are organic, free-range chicken eggs.

I am an information junkie and I have been online for as long as the Internet has publicly existed. I usually have about 20 tabs open at any time (though sometimes so many, that my browser crashes). : )

I love to hear about other people's adventures in life. I really enjoy traveling. I have been to France, Switzerland, Mexico and now reside in Germany.

Music, Movies & Books

We enjoy listening to a variety of music. Our latest favorite band is the Balkan Beat Box.

I enjoy reading non-fiction books. The next book I plan to read is called, Mycelium Running: How Mushrooms Can Help Save the World, by Paul Stamets (Speaker at http://www.ted.com/talks). They are using these mushrooms to clean up the gulf oil disaster.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

We enjoy watching sunsets. There are two that were awe-inspiring for us both;

We went to see a Monarch butterfly grove during their migration near Pismo Beach on the California coast. It was amazing! The highlight of the day came unexpectedly. After we left the grove, we went to the beach to watch the sun set. As the sun slipped below the horizon, we saw two dolphins swimming together a short distance from the shoreline. They were jumping out of the water, one after the other, forming graceful arches. With the sunset behind them, it was truly a once in a lifetime moment.

We were in a rainstorm in France that was so heavy, the streets overflowed with water within seconds. It lasted for about five minutes. All the traffic stopped and all the people everywhere stopped and just stared. People came out of the buildings to watch. A few hours later, shortly before sunset, we stopped in a small town that overlooked a forest-filled valley. The trees were covered in the mist from evaporating rain. The way the setting sunlight reflected off of the mist-covered trees, was majestic. We took pictures, but none of them captured the scene's natural beauty.

Teach, Learn, Share

We would enjoy hearing or learning more about: gardening, Earthships, organic raw food preparation, traveling adventures, protestor/occupier/strike worker experiences, photography, scrap-booking, or anything else you would care to share.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Mexico, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile