Melissa Houghton's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Co-Owner/manager family business, also Environmental Mana...
  • Very well!
  • From Hawley Beach, Tasmania
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

exploring every minute of life like there is no tomorrow

ABOUT ME

I can be bit of a handful, and sometimes a little reckless, because I am obsessed with wanting to make the most of every passing minute. I love exploring and adventure, and have traveled many years hitchhiking, scrounging jobs, letting each day take me where it may. Now I am a a little grounded with the family business but I love to host good people and show them around my beautiful island home. I need company to encourage me to look at my own land with fresh eyes.... it makes me appreciate where I live more, rather than be pining endlessly for places more exotic and far afield. Well at least I may distract myself for a short time, until I take off on a trip again...!

PHILOSOPHY

All of the above

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a pretty hectic life, and little cash to splash. I live 20 kms out of Devonport on a beachside farm, so we have to make our own fun. We also take Help Exchangers and Woofers so there is not always room for visitors. Just write me an email and I can let you know!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet, but I have been a Global Freeloader (similar to couch surfing) for 10 years and traveled through Europe staying with new folks.

Interests

Nature, animals, adventure, languages, motorbikes, flying, surfing, gardening, painting, writing, reading... I can be pretty much interested in anything!

  • animals
  • writing
  • flying
  • gardening
  • reading
  • painting
  • surfing
  • business
  • languages
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

can never remember the titles but I know what I like....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Getting a Job on a subantarctic island!

Hitchhiking to Alaska and working as an excavator driver on a Gold Mine

Becoming a celebrity for a month being a Xmas tree Guardian in New York

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!