Mercedes Escardó's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mercedes’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher and cook
  • Degree in English Teaching
  • From Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'd like to host travellers to get to know other cultures and share experiences.

ABOUT ME

I am sociable, friendly and open-minded. I practise yoga and I am a vegetarian (I practise macrobiotics, to be precise). I enjoy cooking for my friends and spending time with my nieces and nephews.

PHILOSOPHY

I think the only thing which doesn't change is the fact that everything changes, all the time. I aim at learning to become more and more flexible to adapt to the changes around and within me.
Some quotes I like, some of them by friends of mine:
"Uno sólo conserva lo que no amarra", Jorge Drexler.
"Intentando pescar al amor, picó un pez lobo", Paula Trama
"Marriage, ultimately, is the practice of becoming passionate friends." Harville Hendrix
"No encontré ideas que me cambiaran la vida. La vida en realidad fue la que cambió mis ideas." Cecilia Arditto
"Be the change you want to see in the world", Mahatma Gandhi

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a couch at home for travellers visiting Buenos Aires. It's in my living-room so it's not a guest-room. The guest and I would be sharing kitchen and bathroom. I don't mind them cooking as long as they don't cook any meat. I'm ok with other animal produce (milk, cheese, eggs). I'm not usually home except for the odd day off but I sometimes work at home and need the house for that. I will not host smokers or drug users. Alcohol is allowed in moderation.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosting people at home is great fun! I love to tell them about Buenos Aires and Argentina. And it's great to learn about their hometowns!

Interests

I am interested in Literature, Drama, films, music and all kinds of art. I am also into food and healthy eating, and I am interested in teaching people to eat better and encouraging them to go back into the kitchen. Although I'm no expert, I like dancing the tango and would be happy to share the experience with my guest!

  • animals
  • arts
  • literature
  • dancing
  • tango
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • movies
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Plenty! I'll update this part soon.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once saw a sweet potato lying against the curb in the city centre, resting while hundreds of people walked hurriedly past it. It was amazing to realize that no one except me had noticed it, and that the thing was so out of place.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mercedes’s full profile. It’s free!