Matt Saydam

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!


  • IT and travelling :)
  • No education listed
  • From Calgary
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Roaming the world again in 2015!


born and raised in Calgary, Canada. moved to Ankara, Turkey when I was 10. moved back to Calgary, Canada when I was 22. moved to London, UK when I was 26. traveled most of Europe, Middle East and a bit of Asia. moved back to Calgary, Canada summer 2010. moved to Berlin summer 2011.


Happiness is real when shared...

Prefer a feast of friends to the giant family...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


People I hosted in London/Calgary/Edinburgh/Berlin ;
Annie - AUS
Patrycja & Anka - POL
Martin - SK
Firat - TURMeeri - ESTAlison - CANRoger - NORRasa/Laura - LITShane - CANBlandine - FRADeniss - ESTLeo - GERCaroline - SWEJun-E - MALWanWan - CHNLeonie - GERAnne - FRANaomi - USAAnnabelle - FRAPeople I surfed ;Annie - AUS(London)Deniss - EST(Stockholm/Tallinn)Frederic - FRA(Paris)Firat - TURRoger - NOR(Bergen)Preben - NOR(Oslo)Laidi - SWE(Stockholm)Ieva - LAT(Riga)Tadas/Asta - LIT(Vilnius)Kalina - POL(Warsaw)Hania - POL(Krakow)Peter - HUN(Budapest)Silvia - SK(Bratislava)Roshdi - EGY(Alexandria)Ahmed - EGY(Alexandria)Fady - EGY(Cairo)Jeffrey - JOR(Amman)Devora - ISR(Jerusalem)Alon - ISR(Jerusalem)Johnny - ISR(Tel-Aviv)Yudai - JPN(Tokyo)Ming - THA(Bangkok)Peace - THA(Bangkok)Lukas/Filipa - SK/POR(Berlin)Ayoub - MOR(Casablanca)Lydia - TWA(Taipei)Angie - SIN(Singapore)Felicia - MAL(Kuala Lumpur)Grzegorz - AU(Feldkirch)


traveling, photography, video games, meeting people, playing/watching soccer, blogging, spontaneous trips, exchanging travel stories with fellow travellers and going to abandoned sites around the world.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a movie junky :) I'll watch any movie if it doesnt bore me but here are some of my favs;
tim burton|david lynch|quentin tarantino|stanley kubrick|sofia coppola|david fincher|fatih akin|nuri bilge ceylan|

Music : |alternative|indie|ambient|break beats|underground|sufi|

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-I have traveled from Turkey to Canada when I was 10 without any assistance from anyone.It was a wild ride:)
-Met a complete stranger at a train station in Holland who turned out to be a CS'er and crashed at his place in Amsterdam for 2 days...
-Doing the chicken dance to a waiter in Madrid so I can order the chicken meal...
-Seeing the sun, the moon and a rainbow in the sky at the same time in Iceland...
-And of course seeing the northern lights...
-WWOOFing in Japan...

Teach, Learn, Share

Well if you need help with your PC, don't hesitate to ask any questions. I don't mind teaching people and learning from there experiences either. Also I usually cook for my host's, so if you want I can teach you my recipes ;)
Also i can teach you how to make some vodka shots you have never tried before, guarantee ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Turkey, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    14 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups