Michael Louis's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • College
  • From Long Beach, CA, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Mike. I am a 36 year old American who is about to begin traveling the world.

I have been involved in animal rescue for over 10 years, primarily with Greyhounds, but also other dogs and cats.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the idea of couch surfing. I am a Bohemian at heart, and enjoy the company and fellowship of other people. I am so excited about the opportunity to get to know people.

Interests

I love sports, movies, and learning new languages. I am passionate about animals and animal rescue. I have 4 dogs and 3 cats (it was 5 and 5, but a few have passed on).

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • culture
  • movies
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite movies are action and adventure movies, but I also love classic movies from the 30's and 40's. "The Thin Man" series is my favorite. I'm always watching Turner Classic Movies. I love witty comedies.

My favorite music is Mowtown, Old School R&B, Old School Rap & Hip Hop (especially 1990's era), Classic Rock, Alternative/Punk (e.g. The Clash, The Ramones). I love music from the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's.

My favorite books are P.G. Wodehouse's "Jeeves" series, followed by the JK Rowling's "Harry Potter" series. I also love biographies and non-fiction stories about unlikely events. One of my favorite books is "Seabiscuit". The same author wrote "Unbroken", another favorite of mine....I really enjoy 19th Century fiction ("Sherlock Holmes", Oscar Wilde) and early 20th Century fiction ("Nabokov, Hemingway, Bradbury"). I've read most of Clive Cussler's "Dirk Pitt" novels and a fair amount of Tom Clancy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I had the privilege of helping my wife raise her two sons, one of whom now has his own son (I'm a 36 year old Grandpa!).

Rescued and raised many homeless animals. Involved in Greyhound Rescue for retired racing Greyhounds (they are an amazing breed).

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach English and American culture, want to learn as much as I can about other cultures, and want to share great moments and experiences with others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

English and American culture, LOTS of crazy stories, many laughs, friendship and loyalty.

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!