Michael Olson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Woodturner/Woodworker
  • BA in History from University of Washington
  • From Arlington, WA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See the world

ABOUT ME

I am a woodturner/woodworker, so basically i go to work everyday and make stuff out of wood. We mostly specialize in high-end wood stairwells and custom turnings (like table legs and large columns) I also get access to the shop at any time so i like to make projects on the side. I went to the University of Washington where I received my BA in History, originally went to become a high school history teacher so i have everything i need to apply for certification but i changed ways and started working in Museums instead and received a certification in Museum studies from the UW, but I started hating it (though I still volunteer working in Collections putting artifacts into a database, riveting stuff) and so i became a woodturner and now i love going to work. When I'm not working I love going out hiking and camping, I mean there's way too many awesome spots in Washington to not enjoy that kind of stuff, I also like to ride my motorcycle out on country roads when it's nice enough out, getting tattooed when i have extra cash, watching baseball (I know most people don't like watching it but I played for 11 years so I love it) also Hockey, and going to concerts. I really enjoy reading Zen Buddhism and meditating. The most important thing that Buddhism has taught me is to question everything especially authority and that's something I try to live by.

PHILOSOPHY

Recognize impermanence and love in the moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

none, I'm new!

Interests

I like hiking, camping, reading, motorcycles, tattoos, buddhism, hanging out with friends and smoking som pot, researching history, watching sports, going to concerts, etc...

  • tattoos
  • concerts
  • motorcycles
  • shopping
  • reading
  • volunteer work
  • watching sports
  • hiking
  • camping
  • buddhist
  • sports
  • baseball
  • hockey
  • teaching
  • history
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Books- Beat poets, Buddhism B material (I cant read Buddhism books that take it too serious, it has to be light hearted and have a human element to it.) Dystopian Novels (Orwell, Huxley) Anything History related (mostly related to the common man, reading about the accomplishments of rich white people isn't necessarily my cup-of-tea) and Novels about the working class.

Movies- Nature Documentaries, Coen Brothers, Cheech and Chong, Seth Rogen, Simon Pegg, Anything Daniel Day Lewis, Jim Carey, Stoned Age, Wes Anderson, Quentin Tarantino, etc...

Shows: Twin peaks, Japanese Game shows, Lucky Louie, Trailer park boys, x-files, Seinfeld, The office, Old Westerns Shows!!! i grew up on them.

Music- Recently- Americana, 50s rock and roll, 60's Psychedelic, 70s punk, Gram parsons, Brett Detar, Townes Van Zandt, Ryan Adams, Avett Brothers, Black Angels, and a bunch of other stuff.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I have seen is the Norwegian Fjords.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups