Mikel Bisbee-Durlam's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Artist by night/Carpenter by day/Musician by occasion
  • MFA in Sculpture
  • From Des Moines, IA, USA
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travel from Finland to UK (where I am now) to Morocco working on a short film.

ABOUT ME

**** I am currently traveling and won't be back in NYC until May 2013. Good luck with your travels. ****

PHILOSOPHY

I can have as much adventure as I want, but not at the expense of others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed couches as well as housing surfers.

Interests

music - playing live with others especially
art- if you are an artist, i'd love to check out your work, your studio, talk about what you have going on.

  • arts
  • design
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • painting
  • magic
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sports
  • boxing

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moments when I am alone in the wilderness are sometimes my most powerful memories. Chasing coyotes in the desert in Mexico. Fearing for my life at night in the woods of France in the presence of either a bear or a wild boar - still not sure which. A strange surreal moment with a kamoshika in the woods of Nagano Prefecture. A black swan landing next to me in the middle of a lake in Minnesota. These feel like magic moments.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could share: carpentry, most aspects of home repair, bicycle repair, web design, video editing, how to play guitar, painting, sculpture, English...

I wanna learn: how to play the accordion! or really, how to learn any instrument that I don't know how to play, how to juggle with 2 people (I learned 2-person juggling long ago, but if you are a juggler, this would be great), boxing (in a civil, good-sport way)...

I want to experience: anything and everything outdoors that a new area has to offer. I want to see landscape, hike around in it, fully experience it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Estonia, France, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Romania, Spain, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups