Mikkel Christensen's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikkel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning German, Norwegian, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Student, teaching assistance
  • BA in journalism, MA in political science, currently work...
  • From Odder, Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make a positive difference in other people's lives, one way or another


I'm a fun, open-minded, and friendly Danish guy. The last three years I have lived in Columbia, Missouri, studying journalism at the University of Missouri, and in August I will begin workings towards a PhD (where is yet to be seen.) Earlier I have also lived in Denmark - my home country, and in Dublin, Ireland. I'm very curious, and love seeing new things and meeting interesting people, so I really have enjoyed living abroad.

I have been with my lovely girlfriend, Lindsey, for two and a half years, and if I'm couch surfing it will in most cases be together with her. She's an American studying speech-language pathology at the University of Missouri. She works at a daycare and has a passion for working with kids. She has recently been accepted to graduate school at Gallaudet University and has a passion for sign language. She's polite, friendly, and outgoing.

We both love going out and having a good time and staying up late on weekends. Both of us are agreeable and very easy to get along with! Both of us are known not to take life very seriously. Meaningful and memorable experiences are something we value more than anything material. We love traveling together and have done so in both Denmark, the U.S. and Germany

I love meeting new people, and would be happy to host someone here, and also show them around Columbia if they are visiting this fun college town. My apartment isn't big, but is is very nicely located right next to the campus and the downtown area.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm offering my couch and will take good care of my guests. And I hope to be able to stay at some of your couches in the future.


None yet, but hope to gain some soon.


I'm very interested in sports, especially baseball and football. Besides that, I also have strong passions for journalism and politics.

  • politics
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • baseball
  • soccer
  • journalism
  • sign language

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing my dad be on the verge of tears when I received my master's degree. Even though we are living on different sides of the Atlantic we are still very close, so having him come to the US and see how proud he was, was well worth the many many hours of hard work.

The St. Louis Cardinals winning the World Series in 2011. I was lucky enough to get tickets for game 7 and witnessed this game and celebration first hand. Despite only having followed baseball for a few years, it was great to see "my" team win a championship. Especially after my favorite teams in other sports only have brought me dissapointment the last 20+ years :-)

When I moved away from home to live by myself in Dublin, Ireland as a 19-year old. The feeling of excitement and happiness completely overshadowed any fears about being away from my friends and family, and living and working in an Englisg speaking country.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Israel, Palestine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikkel’s full profile. It’s free!