Miriam Pierard's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Miriam’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • History and social studies teacher
  • BA in history and political science, Grad Dip in Teaching...
  • From Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore the world and spend time with myself, learn about the positive things that are happening in other countries so that I can take what I learn back home to help New Zealand live up to its proud history and make it a better place for everyone

ABOUT ME

I'm a 27 year Kiwi and have taken a year off from my career of teaching history at secondary schools to travel around the world by myself. I love Aotearoa New Zealand and find it hard to be away from my beautiful country and family sometimes, but I am having an incredible time exploring Asia, Western Europe and Scandinavia, and am really excited about spending 7 months in Latin America. I love being awe-inspired by different landscapes and nature, enjoying the food and drinks of different countries, meeting new people, learning about the places they come from and how their political/social/education systems work, and I really look forward to hosting travellers myself when I get back and settled in New Zealand.

PHILOSOPHY

"We are made wise not by the recollection of our past, but by the responsibility for our future" - George Bernard Shaw

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I'm travelling around the world by myself, so my participation will be limited to staying on people's couches for a while, but I hope to host when I get back home!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far (through the website), but I've heard excellent things about it so am looking forward to experiencing couch surfing

Interests

Travelling (obviously!), music and dancing (most types, but especially '60s pop and soul, reggae, dancehall, roots, jazz, funk and bass), meeting new people from different places, laughing, eating different foods, trying local wines and beers, history, environmental issues, education, grassroots political and social movements and activism, reading, movies, adventures, beaches, forests, mountains, animals...

  • animals
  • dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • beer
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

The Beatles and other '60s music, reggae, dancehall, jazz, funk, soul, motown, drum n bass and breakbeat, good dubstep and garage, roots, folk...

Robin Hood Men in Tights is my favourite movie, but I pretty much enjoy everything from beautiful foreign films to Ironman and everything in between

I read voraciously, and have too many favourites to name!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding a Royal Enfield Motorbike through the Himalayas on the world's highest and most treacherous but mind-blowingly beautiful road, from Manali to Leh/Ladakh in India

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a history/social studies/classical studies/environmental education teacher, so I hope that I can pass on some of my knowledge and/or passion to the people I meet, and learn from them about what they do and what they're interested in. I also play about on hula hoops when I can find them, and always eager to share and learn with others.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Poland, Russian Federation, Samoa, Singapore, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Miriam’s full profile. It’s free!